Real basic tank question

Johnny Canuck

Reaction score
Country
llCanada
I'm pretty new to tanks, and don't know how to drive them very well.

I'm in a situation where I need to go down a street, and there's an enemy MMC in my way. I tried to shoot my CMG, but no luck. (Right now, I've got 3 tanks wanting to get by a baddie).

What are my options when I'm near enemy MMC with my tank(s), and I want to get past him, and there's building on both sides?

Rule #'s would help lots.

Thanks.

Jazz

Inactive
Reaction score
Country
llLithuania
atuline said:
I'm pretty new to tanks, and don't know how to drive them very well.

I'm in a situation where I need to go down a street, and there's an enemy MMC in my way. I tried to shoot my CMG, but no luck. (Right now, I've got 3 tanks wanting to get by a baddie).

What are my options when I'm near enemy MMC with my tank(s), and I want to get past him, and there's building on both sides?

Rule #'s would help lots.

Thanks.
How many MMC? What kind of MMC (elite? 1st line? concscripts?) What are the chances of passing the PATTC?

What will be the DRMs for the Street Fighting attack? For a motion closed top vehicle, with functioning MGs, with a lone squad attacking you get a base CCV of 5 and DRMs of +2 (motion) -1 (ambush) for a net required DR of 4, after passing the PATTC. The odds do nothing but get worse for HS and SMC. How lucky do you feel?

Of course, a lot of this changes against late war Germans (PF, ATMM, studly leaders, etc...)...which is why you have to ask...:

How many tanks? ( I guess it's 3?) How many can you afford to lose? The most he's gonna get is one tank/defending unit (Squads, HS, leaders). Of course, you don't want to lose any, but the cold hard calculus of combat and ASL says that you only need to get enough through to achieve the objective. It is after all, only cardboard.... The more tanks the scenario designer gives you, the more they expect you to lose in achieving your objectives.