Re: Wall Advantage

SquadLdr76

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Ok, first of all I'd like to say that I am somewhat new at ASL. I've had most of the modules for a couple of years actually, but haven't really been able to find any opponents in my area until recently, so now I've tried to go back tackling the rulebook on my own. This of course means I'll probably be sending a barrage of questions to the forum as I self teach myself.

The one thing right now that is really bothering me is the concept of Wall Advantage B9.32. I've read the passages several times and even looked through the rest of the book and haven't found anything that really helps to explain the concept of WA and the benefits it provides. Could someone either help clarify or show me the area in the book where this is better explained? I'm sure it's some simple explanation, but it somehow eludes me.

Thanks. :)

mglouie

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Hi, welcome to the hobby.

First which version of the ASLRB are you using? If you are using the 1st edition, stop reading now and see if you can find the 2nd edition. The WA rules have been changed to make (or so they say) them easier and less ambiguous.

Bascially by gaining WA you deny the wall to the otherside. In other words you get the +1 or +2 TEM and the otherside does not. This could be a very big deal sometimes.

And don't hesitate to ask questions, no matter how small they seem to you. This forum has just started and the answers to your questions may be very useful for others who have the same questions for years to come. :wink:

spb

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
In most cases, the only benefit you get from WA is denying it to an enemy unit
ADJACENT to the same wall---both of you can't claim the wall TEM.

Basically, if you're in a non-open ground location that contains a wall, you can claim
WA (getting wall/hedge TEM) or claim the non-OG TEM. If you're in OG and there's