Questions around 10.711 voluntary rout and interdiction

Ric of The LBC

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2017
Messages
757
Reaction score
498
Location
Peoples Republic of California
Country
llUnited States
@Ric of The LBC

Which Rulebook is that 10.711 from? Yours says at the end, explicitly, that the leader DRM applies for interdiction NMCs. I felt like an idiot for missing that until I realized the 10.711 I quoted inexplicably does not include that text.

@jrv. I'll bet you (and Mr. T) a million Web-Bux that the[EXC. Voluntary Rout] allows one brokie stacked with one leader, and no more. That's how confident I am. Hell... make it two million Web-Bux.
9170
 

Mister T

Elder Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,712
Reaction score
1,060
Location
Bruxelles
Country
llFrance
10.711 VOLUNTARY ROUT: A non-berserk, non-pinned leader already stacked with a broken unit before it routs may elect to rout with the broken unit even though he is not broken. If he does so, the leader shares the broken unit's vulnerability to Interdiction and, although he does not have to take any Interdiction NMC himself, he is eliminated if the broken unit he is stacked on top of fails an Interdiction MC. (...)

If the latter is meant then it does raise the question of what happens when one of the many broken units routing is pinned and/or interdicted: how would that carry over to the leader? Would a pin of one (of several) broken unit end the rout of the leader and/or the other broken units For that reason if you believe that voluntary rout also allows multiple broken units to rout at the same time, you need to submit for a q&a explaining how that is resolved. That will also answer the question of whether routing multiple broken units is allowed in the first place.
JR
A10.711 gives a plausible answer: the leader shares the fate of the unit he is stacked on top. That does not prevent other broken units to be beneath that unit.
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,648
Reaction score
1,317
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
10.711 VOLUNTARY ROUT: A non-berserk, non-pinned leader already stacked with a broken unit before it routs may elect to rout with the broken unit even though he is not broken. If he does so, the leader shares the broken unit's vulnerability to Interdiction and, although he does not have to take any Interdiction NMC himself, he is eliminated if the broken unit he is stacked on top of fails an Interdiction MC. (...)



A10.711 gives a plausible answer: the leader shares the fate of the unit he is stacked on top. That does not prevent other broken units to be beneath that unit.
I'm with Ric on this one. You're parsing out too much of the EXC. The entire portion of the rule reads "Broken units must rout away (ATTACKER first — one unit at a time [EXC: Voluntary Rout; 10.711]) during that RtPh or be eliminated for Failure to Rout [EXC: Surrender; 20.21]." which explicitly indicates the 1st "EXC" references 10.711 that applies only to a leader being able to rout with broken unit, not any additional units. How one could read anything further into that statement without totally disregarding the portion in bold is beyond me.
 

Justiciar

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
4,889
Reaction score
1,451
Location
Within Range
Country
llUnited States
@Ric of The LBC

....

Oh jeez, I just realized there's another circumstance that needs answering... and it may actually be the one that makes the most real over the board difference in a game: Can two leaders Voluntarily Rout with one brokie (allowing an extraneous leader to Rout away from trouble without voluntarily breaking.) ?
Yes. There is nothing that says only one leader stacked with can excute such a rout... To form the restriction you envision the rule would need to read "Only one non-berserk, non-pinned leader already stacked... " (Eeeegad, you need some time on the couch Specialist Pyth, I worry now about this compounded by the 5/8" Dummy Jeep jitters...)

A non-berserk, non-pinned leader already stacked with a broken unit before it routs may elect to rout with the broken unit even though he is not broken. If he does so, the leader shares the broken unit’s vulnerability to Interdiction and, although he does not have to take any Interdiction NMC himself, he is eliminated if the broken unit he is stacked on top of fails an Interdiction MC. He must remain with the broken unit throughout the RtPh, but is not considered broken and may add his leadership DRM to its Interdiction NMC. The leader, if already in possession of a SW, may portage it, but cannot improve the broken unit’s portage capacity.
 

Pyth

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
874
Reaction score
173
Location
Brooklyn NY
Country
llUnited States
Yes. There is nothing that says only one leader stacked with can excute such a rout... To form the restriction you envision the rule would need to read "Only one non-berserk, non-pinned leader already stacked... " (Eeeegad, you need some time on the couch Specialist Pyth, I worry now about this compounded by the 5/8" Dummy Jeep jitters...)

A non-berserk, non-pinned leader already stacked with a broken unit before it routs may elect to rout with the broken unit even though he is not broken. If he does so, the leader shares the broken unit’s vulnerability to Interdiction and, although he does not have to take any Interdiction NMC himself, he is eliminated if the broken unit he is stacked on top of fails an Interdiction MC. He must remain with the broken unit throughout the RtPh, but is not considered broken and may add his leadership DRM to its Interdiction NMC. The leader, if already in possession of a SW, may portage it, but cannot improve the broken unit’s portage capacity.
Unlike the Dummy's-From-Another-Module Discussion, which indeed had me seeking PTSD counselling as well as tranquilizers and strong drink, everything in this discussion makes sense, even the people I disagree with have been making sense.

Anyway I agree with your reading of voluntary rout allowing multiple leaders to rout with a single brokie.
 

Ric of The LBC

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2017
Messages
757
Reaction score
498
Location
Peoples Republic of California
Country
llUnited States
I'm with Ric on this one. You're parsing out too much of the EXC. The entire portion of the rule reads "Broken units must rout away (ATTACKER first — one unit at a time [EXC: Voluntary Rout; 10.711]) during that RtPh or be eliminated for Failure to Rout [EXC: Surrender; 20.21]." which explicitly indicates the 1st "EXC" references 10.711 that applies only to a leader being able to rout with broken unit, not any additional units. How one could read anything further into that statement without totally disregarding the portion in bold is beyond me.
The scary thing is I'm understanding all of this.
 

Rock SgtDan

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
2,531
Reaction score
108
Location
State of Confusion
First name
Dan
Country
llSlovenia
"During a Voluntary Rout (10.711), Broken units must rout away (ATTACKER first — as many units at a time as desired ) during that RtPh or..."
 
Top