Question Re Victory Conditions

Eric Weider

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I am a EA newbie...the scenario notes state the players should decide in advance of the game what consititutes victory...I am sorry but I don't get that.
The notes state that each player begins the game with an equal 475 VPS and that they should agree what the vicotry conditions will be... how do other players handle this issue? does the game not automatically calculate Victory levels based on relative points?? Thanks for your help!!

:nuts:

Chuck?

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I guess it means the players can decide not to use the victory points to determine victory. Maybe the capitals are used instead.

For example if the Axis capture Paris, Moscow, and Stalingrad they get a OV. If the Allies capture Berlin they get a OV. Anything else would be a draw.

Eric Weider

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Chuck said:
I guess it means the players can decide not to use the victory points to determine victory. Maybe the capitals are used instead.

For example if the Axis capture Paris, Moscow, and Stalingrad they get a OV. If the Allies capture Berlin they get a OV. Anything else would be a draw.
which system do most people use...the one chuck describes above or or Vicotry points? thanks for you help!!

Mark Stevens

Europe Aflame Forum Moderator
Reaction score
Country
ll
I know it's a shocking piece of buck-passing, but Ulver and I were serious when we recommended that you choose your own victory conditions.

The game isn't 'balanced' like most scenarios, but attempts to put the players in the same positions as the Axis and Allies at the start of WWII, with the same type and number of troops and other resources, and the same strategic options and opportunities. It isn't intended to be fair, although if Germany can simply romp all over the map in a few years it isn't accurate.