Pre-Existing Crags under Broken Terrain

Tuomo

Keeper of the Funk
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
4,291
Reaction score
4,646
Location
Rock Bottom
Country
llUnited States
F13.1
If a board with printed Crags (ie, not Hammada-turned-Crags) is specified as having Broken Terrain, do the non-Depression Open Ground hexes accessible to those "pre-existing" Crags become Broken Ground hexes?

Question already sent to MMP, but curious what y'all say. FWIW, the VASL version of bd 25 does not treat hexes Accessible to "pre-existing" Crags this way; we might have to change that, depending on the answer here.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
19,046
Reaction score
6,147
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
Old Q&A said no...

F13.1 If a SSR specifies that Broken terrain exists
on a Desert Board all hammada hexes become
crag hexes that are also Half-Level Obstacles
surrounded by Broken Ground. If this occurs on
board 25, which includes both hammada and crag
hexes, does this mean there are two types of crag
in such a scenario, regular and transformed, or are
all crag hexes treated as above?
A. Yes. No. [Letter217]
 

Wayne

Doing Plenty, Kinda Slow
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
841
Location
Snowiest place in VA
Country
llUnited States
When that rule was writ, Board 25 existed. Letter of the rule would be "pre-existing" Crags are not mentioned and thus are not affected re the Hammada-turned-Crags-related terrain transform.

Given that Board 25 is the only official desert board w/Crags, it's maybe more elegant than code to simply paint a duplicate of that image for Broken Ground -- as and when some official scenario makes that a thing?
 

Tuomo

Keeper of the Funk
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
4,291
Reaction score
4,646
Location
Rock Bottom
Country
llUnited States
The Rulesmeister done did what he do:

Q: F13.1
If a board with printed Crags (ie, not Hammada-turned-Crags) is specified as having Broken Terrain, do the non-Depression Open Ground hexes accessible to those "pre-existing" Crags become Broken Ground hexes?
A: No
 

Stewart

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
2,841
Reaction score
461
Location
California
Country
llRussia
crag hexes that are also Half-Level Obstacles
surrounded by Broken Ground


Specifies what happens to Hammada hexes...not to crag hexes.
 
Top