Playing 'Chicken' with the Panzerwaffe. Clash At Borisovka TKO in 2.

sunoftzu

Reaction score
Country
llTaiwan
Since I started playing ASLSK scenarios, I have posted AARs (usually brief, but occasionally with more detail) under the "So what Starter Kit Scenario have you played recently?" thread. But a number of illuminating observations were made in the setup and playing of S-21 ("Clash At Borisovka"), that I thought it should have its own thread.

This was Mike's second game of S-21, and my fourth, so as is usually the case, I gave Mike the (Russian) balance, which is that the Russian tanks get their full MP allowance on turn 1, instead of the usual requirement of entering the map having expended half of their MPs. This is HUGE, as it allows the Russians to get well within range of exiting the south edge during their turn 2 MPh, without having to resort to CE movement. This started an intriguing discussion of whether or not the Russians should even bother to fight the Germans at all, and instead simply remain in motion, and try to exit more than they lose to German fire.

The VCs require the Russians to eliminate more German tanks than they themselves lose, with an exited tank counting as an eliminated German tank. The Russians have 10 T-34s (6 M41s and 4 M43s), the Germans have 4 PzIVF2s and 2 PzVIEs. So, if the Russians were to exit 6 tanks, they are guaranteed to win, since the most the Germans can then eliminate will be the remaining 4, final score 6-4 Russians (and all the while without destroying a single German tank!!). If the Russians manage to eliminate just 1 German tank, and exit 5, that will also guarantee a win for them, final score 6-5.