PillBox

Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
17
Likes
0
Points
1
Location
Barcelona
#21
Terms like "fire" or "attacks" aren't defined in the rulebook, and as such are used colloquially. The term "Fire Attacks" is defined (index, A7), but is not used in B30.2. Note also that "firing" is the title of a section in Vehicle Smoke Dispensers (D13.3), and the term "fire" is used throughout those rules. This has led to questions about whether vehicular smoke dispensers are weapons of some sort, with similar results.

JR
Thank you. So, there is no real action in the CCPh involving units inside the pillbox.

Referring to broken units, some questions, just to clarify:

- If there are enemy units in an adjacent hex to that of the pillbox, does a broken unit inside the pillbox get a DM counter? In such case, would it be able to Rout?
- Is a broken unit inside a pillbox eliminated for failure to rout if there are enemy units adjacent to/in the pillbox hex?

If you have only small arms/MG, the only way to conquer the pillbox seems to fire from its CA. Is an ATR useful against the NCA TEM?
 

Mr Incredible

Rod loves red undies
Joined
Oct 26, 2004
Messages
2,523
Likes
344
Points
83
Location
Perth, Australia
Skype
hotrod_asl
#22
Thank you. So, there is no real action in the CCPh involving units inside the pillbox.

Referring to broken units, some questions, just to clarify:

- If there are enemy units in an adjacent hex to that of the pillbox, does a broken unit inside the pillbox get a DM counter? In such case, would it be able to Rout?
- Is a broken unit inside a pillbox eliminated for failure to rout if there are enemy units adjacent to/in the pillbox hex?

If you have only small arms/MG, the only way to conquer the pillbox seems to fire from its CA. Is an ATR useful against the NCA TEM?
1. I don't think so. Only in hex units are ADJACENT to the PB to thus cause DM.
2. Nope. They can sit there with the doors locked.
 

Eagle4ty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
2,765
Likes
727
Points
113
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
#23
  • Regards enemy GO units in an adjacent hex containing a PB Location with an opposing Broken unit IN the PB, no the broken unit would not be put under Desperation Morale as the PB is not "ADJACENT" (A.8 & B30.5).
  • Regards to FTR for a broken unit IN a PB with an Unbroken enemy unit outside the PB in the PB's hex; No they are not forced to rout as they cannot leave a PB location as long as an enemy unit is in the same hex, and no they are net eliminated for FTR (B30.5).
  • You could always use CC of course; And, an ATR firing as ordnance may be used vs the NCA of a PB but only if it has an IFE (i.e. must be 20mm).
 

klasmalmstrom

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
14,916
Likes
1,657
Points
163
Location
Sweden
#24
- If there are enemy units in an adjacent hex to that of the pillbox, does a broken unit inside the pillbox get a DM counter?
Yes, assuming the adjacent hex is within the Pillbox's CA.

B30.2:
"...Units in an adjacent, ground-level Location within a pillbox’s CA are treated as being ADJACENT to units in the pillbox (and vice versa) for purposes of Point Blank Fire, FPF, DM, rout, and for DC Placement vs the pillbox..."
 

Tim Niesen

Active Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
554
Likes
31
Points
28
#26
One option to defend a public from CC is to have a foxhole in the same hex, placing an infantry unit there with 360 degree area of fire. Another option is to place a trench there, converting the pillbox into a bunker. Various options. If a friendly unit is in the same hex as a pillbox/bunker, the fortification cannot be assaulted in CC. Is the same true with a bunker, substituting the trench for the foxhole? Can one place another foxhole in the same hex as the bunker combination? Adding another layer of CC defense.
 

jrv

Vare, legiones redde!
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
18,029
Likes
3,114
Points
163
Location
Teutoburger Wald
#27
As long as there is a friendly unit outside, including in a trench, the pillbox may not be attacked. The disadvantage of putting an entrenchment outside is that the enemy can use it too. If you put the entrenchment adjacent (perhaps behind, or possibly in front so it and the pillbox mutually cover each other) then if the enemy get into the pillbox hex, you can sweep the top of the pillbox with fire. Of course if the enemy advances and kills the contents, especially a gun crew, that may not be good necessarily. That said, I don't like to put entrenchments where I think my opponent might find them useful.

JR