Pegasus Bridge - CG I

Dabulamanzi

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
This is my first attempt at writing an AAR so apologies in advance for......oh you'll see.

I started CG I of PB about 3 months ago with my regular gaming partner after a gap of several years having babies and related things (I didn't personally have the babies....er.....never mind).

I was to play the British and my friend the Germans - this was also going to be a re-learning experience for the 2 of us to see how much of the RB we had forgotten (Not as much as we thought but more than we would of liked).

We've been playing a game every fortnight or so and have just finished the Day I scenario.

Night I

Most Germans were set up on the west side of the bridge with some dummy counters on the East to keep me honest.

The landing was reasonably sucessful - all 3 gliders at least landed !
I had intended a coup-de-main with Howard and his glider by dropping them almost on the bridge but of course it scattered - into wire -
and Howard failed his morale check when the glider was damaged. An omen ?

Swiftly clearing the East side of the bridge with out British loss I then prepared to storm the bridge and drive on Berlin.

Of course my opponent had trenches in the grain on the hill and wire surrounding the z15 building and put down a hail of fire as my
well crafted attack went into action (I charged single squads across the bridge one at a time while shouting 'Please don't kill me')

Apart from a few cowardly Paras who didn't seem to like my plan, I managed to get a toehold in the Cafe Gondree and the other building south of the road but couldn't get into the wire covered cafe on the north side. Luckily no one died (At least on the British side) but the scenario ended early and I could get no further.

Oh well - I held the Bridge and had 5 squads and a leader on the west bank.

Actually they were isolated for the next scenario which we forgot when time came to play it -