Panjis fun, did we do this correctly or Not!

MajorDomo

DM? Chuck H2O in his face
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
2,884
Reaction score
548
Location
Fluid
Country
llUnited States
Some Panji questions arose:

A. If an America halfsquad Advances across a panji hexside in APh, no attack takes place. There is a Japanese HIP 247 in the hex. Is the Ami halfsquad on top the panji for the coming ambush and CC?
[We played on top for ambush/CC].

B. Same question if the hex is empty, is Advancing AMI on top the panji or below?
[We played on top]

C. Squad attempts to place a DC on a pillbox, but there are panjis along the placing hexside. Do they take a panji NMC?
[We played no panji NMC]

D. If a Japanese squad move across a HIP panji out of LOS of any opposing units, does it take a NMC, then go ontop, finally, under the panji. Or, does it move right through the HIP panji fortification.
[ We played Jpn squad could more right through the panjis with no consequences].

Thanks,
Rich
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
16,418
Reaction score
2,906
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
IIRC, an advance across a Panji hexside always puts the units on top of the Panji counter.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
16,418
Reaction score
2,906
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
D. If a Japanese squad move across a HIP panji out of LOS of any opposing units, does it take a NMC, then go ontop, finally, under the panji. Or, does it move right through the HIP panji fortification.
[ We played Jpn squad could more right through the panjis with no consequences].
G9.4:
"...If a hidden Panji counter’s Location is entered across one of its Covered hexsides by a unit of the side that owns the Panji counter, 9.41-.44 apply unchanged but the Panji counter is revealed only if a Good Order enemy ground unit has the applicable necessary LOS to it."


Plus, Q&A:
Does a friendly unit take a Panji MC when crossing HIP Panjis [G9.4]? Is Panji concealment loss applicable while the Panji are
still HIP [G9.53]? Is Horse/Bicycle elimination [G9.422] applicable while the Panji are still HIP?
A. Yes to all.
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,583
Reaction score
644
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
C. Regarding the DC placement, DC attacks across a Panji hexside do not require entry of the hex (as per A23.3) nor placement of the unit on top of the Panji (from where it couldn't use a DC anyway). Therefore, there is no Panji MC.

A23.3 ...The act of Placing the DC is considered movement expended in the Placement Hex (the Location occupied by the Placing unit — not the Location in which the DC is actually Placed)...

As per G9.211, a DC so "placed" would actually be resolved as a thrown DC. With the possibility of destroying, first, the thrown-across Panji hexside (plus, possibly, other Panji hexsides: G9.72).
 

Jazz

Inactive
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
10,629
Reaction score
1,066
Country
llLithuania
How many inches of rules text are devoted to f*g sticks in the ground?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MajorDomo

DM? Chuck H2O in his face
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
2,884
Reaction score
548
Location
Fluid
Country
llUnited States
How many inches of rules text are devoted to f*g sticks in the ground?
Yep, they are one of the more quirky things in the system.

Most quirky things are found in HASLs, where they reside after escaping a designer's mind.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,720
Reaction score
2,266
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
What is mostly annoying, is that if the rules were simpler (e.g. as simple as wire), there would be quite a lot of scenarios with panjis.
But the state of the system makes that there are only a handful of scenarios with them.
I would suggest an optional, streamlined rule - or even a non optional rewritten rule : the rare scenarios with panjis could be updated to that new rule.
I mean, Avalon Hill did modify the OBA rules and nobody complained - leaving us with the useless blue SR marker as a relic of the initial rule.
Some reform can do no harm.
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
4,164
Reaction score
1,733
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
What is mostly annoying, is that if the rules were simpler (e.g. as simple as wire), there would be quite a lot of scenarios with panjis.
But the state of the system makes that there are only a handful of scenarios with them.
I would suggest an optional, streamlined rule - or even a non optional rewritten rule : the rare scenarios with panjis could be updated to that new rule.
I mean, Avalon Hill did modify the OBA rules and nobody complained - leaving us with the useless blue SR marker as a relic of the initial rule.
Some reform can do no harm.
WHAAA...?! A heretic! One little rule change by the designers (OK, maybe two with the bridge thingy) and you recommend a wholesale revision of the rules that may well destroy the game system.:eek:🤣 (BTW 👍)
 
Top