OzB: Capture board edge?

=FC=Gorgon

Minister of Propaganda
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
251
Location
Ryalside
Country
llUnited States
In the OzB CG game, if the Russians get the north board edge (the Axis friendly board edge), does that prevent the Axis from entering on any portion of it? For example, if one has TL (say from a foxhole) that abuts the board edge or its control zone abuts the board edge, can the Axis player still enter on those hexes?

Thanks,
MikeS

PS Yes, I'm still playing this CG. It's taking a while as we've missed a few sessions. FYI, I love it!
 

volgaG68

Fighting WWII One DR At A Time
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
2,901
Reaction score
976
Location
La Crosse, KS
First name
Chris
Country
llUnited States
Why would the Axis not be able to enter on those hexes? When we encountered the same thing in our playing of this CG, we applied the basic rules of off-board setup, movement, lack of LOS, etc. The Russians do not Control the Axis' Friendly Map Edge even if they Controlled every hex on it, as there is no such rules concept as "Controlling The Enemy's Friendly Map Edge". The Reds simply Control those individual hexes, or have them linked in to their TAC. When setup off-board, the Axis are not considered ADJ to those hexes because no LOS exists between on-board and off-board units.
 

=FC=Gorgon

Minister of Propaganda
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
251
Location
Ryalside
Country
llUnited States
Well IIRC, in either RB or VotG it is possible to capture a 'board edge' and prevent reinforcements from using that board edge (or at least the hexes captured). I was curious if there was such a possibility here. Since it doesn't specifically say so, then playing by the standard rules would apply. Thanks for the response.
 

George Kelln

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
1,177
Reaction score
861
Location
Victoria, BC, Canada
Country
llCanada
Can the Russians capture the Axis' Friendly Map Edge (FME).

YES

So what does it mean if they do?

1. It will prevent the Axis from drawing a path to the FME, but
2. It will not prevent the Axis from entering along the north edge.

I hope this answer helps.

Cheers

George
 

=FC=Gorgon

Minister of Propaganda
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
251
Location
Ryalside
Country
llUnited States
That answers my question. Thanks George.

MikeS

Can the Russians capture the Axis' Friendly Map Edge (FME).

YES

So what does it mean if they do?

1. It will prevent the Axis from drawing a path to the FME, but
2. It will not prevent the Axis from entering along the north edge.

I hope this answer helps.

Cheers

George
 
Top