OP Stuart in "Roadblock at Mithwephok"

Binchois

Too many words...
Reaction score
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
I'm up to the third (and last) scenario of the mini-CG from China-Burma-India: The Lost Theater - a great scenario pack, btw! With luck, Jim Burris is lurking nearby, but I'd be happy if some others have experience with OP AFVs or this CG...

The Commonwealth have chosen the OBA support group which includes an OP Stuart I(a). Since I have never used an OP AFV before, this requires some assumptions:

1. The Stuart is not listed as one of Britains' "standard" OP vehicles. But I assume that the extra +1 accuracy drm will apply when BU.

2. I am also not sure whether to keep the Stuart's armaments as per the counter or whether it loses it's regular MA as does a Sherman, Cromwell, or RAMs. If it is treated like the others, it gets no 37LL, but will still have all 3 MGs. The CMG would become the MA with a 1 ROF (but that's a lot of assumptions!).

3. Finally (and this is a general question regarding all OP AFVs), how are the vehicle's other armaments and ability to move affected while the Radio is in use (or when an AR/SR/FFE is in play from its battery)? The rules (H1.46) are written as if the Observer is just a passenger on board, and the AFV is otherwise free to move/fire so long as any necessary LOS to its AR/SR/FFE isn't affected (as would be required of a standard OBA observer). A Q&A, OTOH, states that an OP AFV cannot make or maintain Radio Contact or conduct other OBA actions while in Motion.

I'll send the question to JagerSoft if needed. Thanks!

Binchois

Too many words...
Reaction score
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
I today received an answer to my questions from the CG's designer, Jim Burris. I'm still not certain if his answer to #3 is what the ASLRB intends, but I am just glad to have a referee in this matter (since the ASLRB info is so sparse). Here's how he responded (obviously, #s 1 and 2 are his call to make):