OBA - do you get what is on the scenario card or in chapter H?

JoeArthur

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
201
Reaction score
121
Location
Broadstairs
Country
llUnited Kingdom
Hi,

The first ever posting I made on this sight was this:


The issue has come up again. The Bitche Salient ASL scenario GEN-J. The scenario card states HE and SMOKE for the two US OBA modules of 80mm and 100mm. My opponent asked can he use WP? According to chapter H DYO (page H45 for me) US OBA the 80mm has WP but no SMOKE and the 100 has SMOKE but no WP.

Which is right? The scenario card or using chapter H? More importantly WHY is it right - where is all this covered in the rules?

Any help to finally resolve this question would be appreciated.

Many thanks,

Joe
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
15,971
Reaction score
2,483
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
If if says "SMOKE" that means "Smoke" and "WP".

But the SSR in Scenario J (from ASL Classic) says:

4. The Americans receive one module of 80+mm OBA (HE and Smoke) with
Normal Ammunition [EXC: radio contact may not be attempted prior to
American Player Turn 4]
and one module of 100+mm OBA (HE and Smoke)
[EXC: radio contact may not be attempted prior to American Player Turn 7]."

So no WP - only Smoke.
 

JoeArthur

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
201
Reaction score
121
Location
Broadstairs
Country
llUnited Kingdom
That was very quick - thank you. Do you know where in the rules this is covered though please? Francois (my opponent) has posted to a French site and the answer he got was you get chapter H - that was from a very good French player.
 

buser333

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
675
Reaction score
176
Location
central WI
I believe it is somewhere in the rules, but the Index says SSRs always take precedence to the rulebook.
 

JoeArthur

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
201
Reaction score
121
Location
Broadstairs
Country
llUnited Kingdom
I believe it is somewhere in the rules, but the Index says SSRs always take precedence to the rulebook.
Good point - thank you.

I suppose the question leading on from this is did the scenario designer of GEN-J know these facts when he wrote the scenario :) This scenario was issued well before the second edition rulebook.............
 

Mister T

Elder Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,709
Reaction score
1,070
Location
Bruxelles
Country
llFrance
Good point - thank you.

I suppose the question leading on from this is did the scenario designer of GEN-J know these facts when he wrote the scenario :) This scenario was issued well before the second edition rulebook.............
That's a conjecture. The SSR is clear on the issue -no WP.
 

JoeArthur

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
201
Reaction score
121
Location
Broadstairs
Country
llUnited Kingdom
Many thanks for all the help everyone - question answered and it all makes sense. Now I finally know :)
 
Top