Newb Review of Forgotten War: Two-Toned Counters Blow

boylermaker

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I should kick this off by saying very clearly: I am not the target audience for this module. I don't have any particular interest in Korea, and I only started playing a few years ago, so I'm not one of these old guys too jaded to enjoy the Eastern Front any more. Of course, I bought the module anyway, on the principle of get-stuff-while-its-in-print-just-in-case. It also occurred to me that someday I might gain an interest in Korea, or lose an interest in playing Yet Another German Attack In Italy Wait A Minute Weren't The Allies On The Offensive Why Are The Germans The Attacker In Every One Of These Scenarios.

But having looked at the module, I don't intend on playing it any time soon. I'm not against it: if an opponent wants to play some Korea, I'm willing to wade into all the various extra rules, but I won't suggest it myself. For my taste, the chrome:content ratio is too high. The cognitive load required to learn about 1000 fiddly small-effect rules, and a handful of large-effect rules, just isn't worth it for me.

Now, I should reiterate: I'm not the intended audience. I barely have a handle on the Japanese, have never done an amphibious assault, and Valor of the Guards is the only campaign game under my belt. Someday, I hope, all the rules of ASL will be second nature to me, and learning the Korea rules won't seem like such a daunting task. But until then, Korea just won't capture my attention.

To be fair, the chrome:content ratio is high for two reasons: