New Career Direction

MonsterZero

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I graduated from college in 1999 with one of those new Bachelor of Arts degrees in Interactive Multimedia. Spent about 3 years as a webmaster for a media duplication company building and administering their website as well as those of their corporate partners. In college I did whatever jobs fit my schedule

Lost my job in February 2002 and eventually gave up on the IT industry (the industry was pathological and plagued by very serious problems even back in 1999) and then spent a couple of years directionless, doing sales (fraudulent, unethical scum-that firm) and home improvement services contracting (actually a decent job although dirty and dangerous).

Today was my second day of a Certified Nurse Assistant class and so far so good. As soon as I'm done with this course (March) I get a job at a hospital and push on with my education (B.S. degree in nursing).

Both of my older sisters are in health care so the transition to health care wasn't exactly a decision that came out of nowhere. As professionals my sisters are happy, confident and highly successful on all levels and this has come not unnoticed to me. My mom works in a hospital too (housekeeping) and can't stop praising that industry.

I'm not exactly excited about clearing fecal impactions by inserting my finger into somebody's anus but if I have the choice between regular feces (health care) and feces that wears an expensive suit, walks on two legs and talks to me (private sector, general business), I chose the former. Ordinary feces I can deal with.

I'm too honest (and thus vulnerable) to work in general business.

Wish me all the good luck I can get because it's a big change in life.

Last edited:

jlbetin

Forum Conscript
Reaction score
Country
llFrance
In French we say, " There is no stupid work, only stupid people"