Need LINUX help

Roy

Living in Brownbackistan
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Hi guys.
I am having issues getting VASSAL installed on my old laptop that I installed LINUX mint on.

I am a total newb / novice at LINUX and am trying to learn how to use it. I download the TAR, open VASSAL.sh but don't know what to do with it.
Any help would be appreciated. Please keep in mind that you will be talking to an old fart who hasn't a clue what he is doing with LINUX.

Thanks!
Roy

jrv

Forum Guru
Reaction score
Country
llIceland
VASSAL.sh is a shell script. By default on linux (mine at least) text files are not executable, and you have to change their permissions to make them so. There are many ways to do that; this is one. In a terminal window, change directory ("cd") to the directory that contains the VASSAL.sh file. Type "chmod u+x VASSAL.sh" (without the quotes) at the terminal. This should produce no message; if it does it is probably an error. You can then type "./VASSAL.sh &" (without the quotes) at the terminal. If you have everything set up correctly that should bring up the VASSAL application window.

The "&" runs the script in the background, i.e. it does not block your terminal and you can continue to use that terminal. If you start VASSAL.sh without the "&", the terminal will wait for the script to finish (i.e. for you to exit VASSAL) before you can type more commands at that terminal.

JR

Reactions: Roy

Will Fleming

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux. I think you will find the experience frustrating, humiliating, and then ultimately rewarding. You are in control now and not some monster from Redmond or Silicon Valley!

Here are some dated instructions. Ubuntu is similar to your "Mint"

http://www.vassalengine.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1426

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/928590/rookie-ubuntu-user-needs-help-setting-vassal

I have a kind of weird setup, but will try to help you out.