My first scenario: BattleAxe 1941

Siberian HEAT

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
After doing some preliminaries for my Europe Aflame 42 scenario, I quickly realized there are too many things I am unsure about in the TOAW editor. :hmmm: Therefore, as practice I am going to work on a MUCH smaller scenario :) and have picked the BattleAxe operation of the Commonwealth forces against Rommel near Sollum and Bardia in June of 41.

Going to do 8-12 half-day turns (since the real battle was only 3 days long), 2.5km/hex, battalion size, with a map focusing on the area around Bardia, Ft. Capuzzo, and Halfaya pass region.

I have been trawling the internet for a good map of this battle, and so far have been unable to find anything that I would call reference quality. At the very least I would like to find a good large-scale topographic map of the area. Anyone have any suggestions? The US Military Academy maps aren't detailed enough :(

You would think since I have a degree in Geography finding maps would be the easy part of this endeavor! :laugh:

Any ideas appreciated!

Last edited:

RhinoBones

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
As a suggestion to get yourself started, use an existing TOAW map as a starting reference and rescale it to 2.5 K/hex. Even a 10 or 15 K/hex map provides enough information to block out the general area. When you eventually find the references you need, you can go back and fill in the details and correct the geography errors. You would not be copying the map verbatim, however you may want to consult the original author before you use the map as a reference. Who knows, maybe the original author has additional references and details.

Regards, RhinoBones

Reaction score
Country
llFinland
As Siberian well knows, Daniel´s Tobruk´41 covers the area with 2.5km hexes...I think there couldn´t be better reference to start with...

Ben Turner

Reaction score
Country
ll