Lost a small Rule - legality of a bypass of a hex based on the width of the bypass point

macrobo

King of Boxcars
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
1,203
Reaction score
489
Location
Geelong Melbourne
First name
Rob
Country
llAustralia
Hi All Rules Gurus

I have have dug and dug and seem to be unable to quote to an esteemed opponent the legality of bypass rule where hex 19Q1 (when its a board edge) does not allow enough distance to bypass and avoid a shot from 19Q2 - I thought it was the width of a standard counter but alas I cant see that in the book!
Life does not come to an end if its my imagination that I remembered such a thing but always good to have clarity on the finer points of ASL if I ever stop rolling boxcars ?

Thank you in advance

Cheers

Rob :)
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
17,717
Reaction score
4,324
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
D2.3:
"...Therefore, the interior of each hexside traversed must be clear of any obstacle depiction to the depth of an edge of a unit counter for VBM to be usable..."
 

macrobo

King of Boxcars
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
1,203
Reaction score
489
Location
Geelong Melbourne
First name
Rob
Country
llAustralia
Dear Klas

Thank you for that - its infantry bypass so that suggests teh sigle file approach is legal for a squad?

Cheers

Rob
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
17,717
Reaction score
4,324
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
Thank you for that - its infantry bypass so that suggests teh sigle file approach is legal for a squad?
For Infantry, it's rule A4.3:
"Bypass enables unbroken Infantry to move through a building/woods hex without entering the obstacle in that hex (and consequently having to pay the two MF cost of actually entering a building or woods), whenever that obstacle does not physically touch the hexside being Bypassed. ..."
 

hongkongwargamer

Forum Guru
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
6,473
Reaction score
3,935
Location
.. beneath the Pale Moonlight
Country
llPuerto Rico
:) I just quoted the same rule to you (post #4) in an email. Infantry bypass differs from VBM in that it doesn't call for a counter width. I got photos attached. Lemme know what you think.
 
Top