Losing HIP status to perform concealment loss activities out of LOS of enemy units

Darren Kovacs

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
99
Reaction score
10
Location
Victoria BC
Country
llCanada
To perform the listed activity, they must not be HIP.

....Perry
MMP

This is the answer to the question I posed regarding HIP units performing concealment loss activities out of LOS with a clarification to a Perry Sez Q&A for A12.31-.32. Question and reference Perry Sez below:

For clarification of the following Perry Sez answer, the second question and answer, “must” a unit sacrifice its hidden status and come out concealed in order to perform the types of activities listed? [The “May” might suggest it is an option versus a requirement]

Darren Kovacs

A12.31 states that: “A revealed hidden unit is totally discovered; it is not placed on board beneath a “?” unless specifically stated
by a rule covering that particular situation (e.g., 11.19, 12.15, 152, .153, .32, .34).”
Does “revealed” in this context refer only to the involuntarily forfeiture of hidden status (e.g., due to enemy action, overstacking,
friendly OBA, etc.)? Or does it also apply to the voluntary forfeiture of hidden status?
A. Involuntary.
May a hidden unit not in enemy LOS voluntarily sacrifice its hidden status, and become concealed in order to perform some action
(e.g., Deploy during the RPh, Entrench during the PFPh, Place SMOKE during the MPh, voluntarily break a MMC in order to rout
with a still concealed/hidden leader, transfer a weapon during the APh, etc.), or to undertake no activity at all during that phase?
Or is the unit “totally discovered” the moment it sacrifices its hidden status under these circumstances? May a hidden unit in
enemy LOS voluntarily sacrifice its hidden status, and become concealed in order to perform a non-concealment loss activity, or
no activity at all during that phase? Or is the unit “totally discovered” the moment it sacrifices its hidden status under these
circumstances?

A. The former in both cases.
 
Top