LOS Help

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,216
Reaction score
1,200
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States


Three LOS's here. Does hill 733 (hex O5 at level 4) have LOS to:
1)H6 at level 2 (the tan LOS line)?
2)F7 at level 1 (the red LOS line)?
3)D6 at level 0 (the pink LOS line)?
 

Pitman

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
13,827
Reaction score
1,431
Location
Columbus, OH
Country
llUnited States
THis is not my forte, but my answer is that for H6 there is no LOS (the observing hex is not high enough to reduce the blind hex to zero), but for the other two there is a LOS.
 

Ole Boe

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
2,874
Reaction score
10
Location
there...
Country
llNorway
Mark is correct. There is no LOS to H6, but LOS to the other two. The calculation goes as this:

I6 (the obstacle in front of H6) creates one blind hex since the distance from O5 is 5-9 hexes (B10.23). O5 is exactly one level higher than I6, and will therefore not reduce the number of blind hexes - thus no LOS.

G7 (the obstacle in front of F7) also creates one blind hex, but according to A6.42: take the height differences between O6 and G7 (4-2 = 2), subtract by one (2-1 = 1), and reduce the number of blind hexes by the last number (1-1 = 0), thus no blind hexes.

Similarily for D6, where the obstacle is E6. The number of blind hexes is 2 (distance 10), but height difference of O6 and E6 is 3. 3 - 1 = 2, so reduce the number of blind hexes by 2 - again zero blind hexes.
 

rick63hughes

Recruit
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Luton, UK
Country
ll
Just to note, rule A6.42 does say that the minimum is 1 blind hex, regardless of decreases.

Therefore all those hexes in the diagram are blind.

Rick
 

Pitman

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
13,827
Reaction score
1,431
Location
Columbus, OH
Country
llUnited States
No, they are not. You forgot the exception for blind hexes caused by crest lines. They can be reduced to a minimum of 0.
 

SamB

Shut up and play!
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
6,791
Reaction score
379
Location
Seattle, Washington,
Country
llUnited States
Ju
st to note, rule A6.42 does say that the minimum is 1 blind hex, regardless of decreases.

Therefore all those hexes in the diagram are blind.
Ah, but the rules also say (NRBH) that you can reduce the blind hexes to zero if the obstacle is a hill crest - especially if its part of the "same hill mass", IIRC.

What I've never seen definined is what is part of the "same hill mass".

Sam "No Rule Book here, and completely confused anyway" Belcher
 

rick63hughes

Recruit
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Luton, UK
Country
ll
I've never noticed that rule before. :oops:

Now I understand what you mean and how you have achieved the answer.

Great stuff.

Rick
 

Ole Boe

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
2,874
Reaction score
10
Location
there...
Country
llNorway
In effect, crest lines produces one less blind hex than other obstacles do. Its really that simple (in most situations) :wink:
 
Top