Just got Avalon Hill 1985 ASL rules - recommended sources for additions?

JeffPreston

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
ll
Hi Folks!

I've been playing SL on and off since 1979 and have just jumped into ASLSK 1 and 3. I saw the Avalon Hill 1985 rules for sale cheap and picked them up. I understand that the MMP rules are a big improvement, but the budget for them has to wait for the moment.

Does anyone have any tips for anything I can download and add to my AH 1985 ASL rulebook?

I've got lots of charts and such which dedicated enthusiasts have produced, but wondered if there are errata sheets and so forth which are essential downloads for one such as me, who has the 1985 version?

Any help is very much appreciated!

- Jeff

PS - Playing Clash at Borisovka (from ASLSK 3) solo right now. First time I've had an ASL Tiger fire its gun. It rolled a 12! T34 nipped around the back and blew it to atoms...

Jazz

Inactive
Reaction score
Country
llLithuania
Get V2 of the book. Just buy it if you really want to play ASL. it was published sometime around late '90s/early 2000's (?)

There were multiple page revisions to the original (V1, '85) rules as originally published. Without these revisions the original rules are unusable. I know of no source for these revised pages other than purchasing the original modules that they came in. You can probably find a list of these revised pages athe ASL FAQ (https://grognard.com/faqs/FAQ0.htm), but I seriously doubt they are available other than from a collector.

For a more detailed discussion, please look at <https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/799278/aslrb-v1-conversion-aslrb-v2>

Last edited:

Philippe D.

Elder Member
Reaction score
Country
llFrance