J190 Setup question

Thunderchief

Elder Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2003
Messages
1,205
Reaction score
740
Location
Canberra, Australia
Country
llAustralia
I have a question about J190 - can the Germans set up real units concealed (by the setup rule and SSR) and then use all the ? as dummies? I am thinking that since the SSR says units in concealment terrain can be concealed means they get it for "free" without having to use OB-given ?, or does the SSR allow use of the OB-given ? to allow concealment when it would not normally be allowed? I think the first makes more sense, since the OB-given ? could be used to conceal units anyway, regardless of where the defender sets up.
 

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,625
Reaction score
2,101
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
I have a question about J190 - can the Germans set up real units concealed (by the setup rule and SSR) and then use all the ? as dummies?
Yes, with the always-applicable-restriction that you can't place a non-OB-designated ? counter above an OB-designated ? in the same Location.

I am thinking that since the SSR says units in concealment terrain can be concealed means they get it for "free" without having to use OB-given ?, or does the SSR allow use of the OB-given ? to allow concealment when it would not normally be allowed? I think the first makes more sense, since the OB-given ? could be used to conceal units anyway, regardless of where the defender sets up.
You're right, the first is the correct interpretation. SSR 2 says that Entrenchments are also considered Concealment Terrain during setup, which lets you place OB-designated ? counters IN Entrenchments and real units IN Entrenchments would be freely concealed. It doesn't let you place OB-designated ? counters in Open Ground (unless IN an Entrenchment) for instance.
 

Blaze

Final Fired
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
589
Reaction score
427
Location
Pittsburgh PA
First name
Brian
Country
llUnited States
Also don't forget that those Entrenchments also set up hidden:

A12.33 FORTIFICATIONS: Fortifications in Concealment Terrain may always set up hidden and remain hidden until use of its protective TEM is claimed, or a unit therein loses its concealment, or a Good Order enemy ground unit gains a LOS to its Location and is within 16 hexes. [EXC to all: Minefields; B28.1.] Fortifications set up in non-Concealment Terrain are treated as if set up in Concealment Terrain [EXC: they also lose their HIP status due to enemy LOS regardless of range].
 

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,625
Reaction score
2,101
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
But beware, if there are Concealed German units in non-Concealment Terrain (but where there could be an Entrenchment), then obviously a hidden Entrenchment is there. It will make it easier to move in to/out of the Entrenchment as long as it remains hidden though.
 
Top