Issue in Doubt - AAR

the-isz

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States

I’m still a newbie at this, but thought I would try a large-scale scenario. Here’s how it went down… (note: there are spoilers here, just so you know).

Turn 1

Initial plan is to establish 3 defensive fronts west of the village of Heustreu, comprised of Brads, M150s and Dragon crews. Based on intelligence, the decision is made not to try and take Heustreu as it is expected the East Germans will reach it first. The plan is to let the enemy seize the village and then stop the attack along the North-South highway, then look for a weakness and counter-attack

the-isz

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Turn 9

The attack begins in earnest as the enemy’s lead elements pour out of Heustreu, directly into oncoming TOW and Dragon missile fire from the US central front immediately west of the village. Numerous enemy SPW-50s are destroyed near the highway just SW of the village.

Heavy US shelling has destroyed the only bridge SE of the village, bottling up large number of BMP2 and SPW-50PKs just east of bridge. Hammer them with air strikes.

Air strikes reveal large number of T-55 tanks advancing in the north, threatening a thinly defended north.

Appears enemy is probing river crossing to the south.

Southern M150s are performing well, destroying SPW’s deeply hidden within the village.

To-date, 1 Bradley lost.

the-isz

Recruit
Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Turn 12

Attack intensifies with numerous T-55s attacking from the north while additional T-55s emerge immediately south of town.

In the north, Dragon crews destroy several T-55s, but are quickly becoming overwhelmed. There is a real concern of whether or not the north can hold.