Initial BFP 3 Errata

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,507
Reaction score
905
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Based on the above discussion, I've updated the errata and files in post #91 with the following Q&A. Sticky errata is unaffected.

Q. With the Japanese Type 1 Ho-Ha can a passenger remove the MG's as part of the normal unloading process or can only the crew remove them?

A. The MGs are removable by the Passengers just like the US vehicle (US Vehicle Note 30).

Rick
 
Last edited:

horseshoe

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
3,366
Reaction score
272
Location
Memphis, Tn
Country
llUnited States
We bought B&J and CoS at the same time. Getting around to punching counters, i found replacement sheets in CoS for 2 of the counter sheets in B&J. Can someone tell me which counters were replaced? Should i just put the original sheet in retirement? I searched this thread but couldnt really find what i was looking for.:confused:

Thanks

MWR
 

Spencer Armstrong

Canard de Guerre
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
8,335
Reaction score
1,228
Location
Gainesville, FL
First name
Spencer
Country
llUnited States
We bought B&J and CoS at the same time. Getting around to punching counters, i found replacement sheets in CoS for 2 of the counter sheets in B&J. Can someone tell me which counters were replaced? Should i just put the original sheet in retirement? I searched this thread but couldnt really find what i was looking for.:confused:

Thanks

MWR
Pretty much all of them. It was a white core/grey core issue. You should have gotten enough sheets to replace all of B&J's original counters. The only thing that wasn't 1-for-1 replaced was one terrain type (crag, I think), so you'll want to keep those "live."

S
 

horseshoe

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
3,366
Reaction score
272
Location
Memphis, Tn
Country
llUnited States
Pretty much all of them. It was a white core/grey core issue. You should have gotten enough sheets to replace all of B&J's original counters. The only thing that wasn't 1-for-1 replaced was one terrain type (crag, I think), so you'll want to keep those "live."

S
I think all we got was sheet 2 and sheet 4.

I'm assuming you're talking about the color of the counters,correct??
 

Spencer Armstrong

Canard de Guerre
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
8,335
Reaction score
1,228
Location
Gainesville, FL
First name
Spencer
Country
llUnited States
FWIW i like the original sheets better. I will have to look at them closer to see what you're talking about.

Thanks Spencer
Pretty much a push in my book. The core (inside) of the counter was white in B&J. In CoS, it was grey (cardboard color, actually slightly brownish). BFP replaced them at their cost. The issue is that if you have a B&J SW (say) in a stack of other counters, you can tell what it is from the side. Class move on BFP's part, if not strictly needed.

S
 

MajorDomo

DM? Chuck H2O in his face
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
2,839
Reaction score
521
Location
Fluid
Country
llUnited States
Class move on BFP's part to replace the white core counters with grey core ones.

The white ones were cool, however, their downside was that you could see identify the white core counters in a stack. So some limited recon was free (ie. not dummies, rare BFP vehicles...)

Rich
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,507
Reaction score
905
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Additional BFP 3 Q&A

Q: In the Mission for BFP 67, the Australians win at game end by accumulating >= 24 Exit VP of Good Order units on/north of hexrow U provided that they Controlled the level 2 hill hexes south of the stream at some point during the scenario. Does this mean that they must control all 8 level two hill hexes at the same time or that must control every one of the 8 level two hill hexes at sometime during the seven game turns?

A: They must control every one of the 8 level two hill hexes at sometime during the scenario. There is no requirement to control all of them at the same time.

View attachment 37602
View attachment 37601
 
Last edited:

Sean Deller

Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2004
Messages
154
Reaction score
69
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

Rick,

There appears to be a .pdf-creation error in both errata files as there is overlapping text.

Cheers,
Sean
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,507
Reaction score
905
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

Thanks for pointing that out, Sean. That was weird. Fixed the files, and double-checked them. They should be good to go now.

Rick
 

nebel

Share and Enjoy
Joined
Apr 15, 2007
Messages
681
Reaction score
135
Location
Sector ZZ Alpha
Country
llAustralia
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

Just getting ready to play BFP-32 and looking at the scenario card the Wagon counter on the card shows 6MF the standard wagon has 8MF is this a special wagon or is the scenario card incorrect?
Also reading the gun notes it says to move the 149/13 ART piece it must be wagon towed. The T6 value would require 2 wagons to pull the gun. As there are only 3 wagons and 2 149/13 pieces is this what was intended in the scenario design?

thanks in advance,
N
 

Chas

Senior Member
Joined
May 2, 2004
Messages
1,999
Reaction score
452
Country
llUnited States
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

The printed MF should be 8.

Otherwise, the allotted number of counters in the scenario is correct.
 

Nghtflame7

Recruit
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Location
Virginia
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

Question on BFP 47, Seizing Viru Harbor.

USMC can set up anywhere on Boars 32 or 37 except the overlay on board 32. The overlay does not cover hex row A. Does this mean the USMC can set up in hex row A. That leaves the Japanese surrounded on 3 sides. I don't think it is a big issue, but will definitely affect how I set up my Japanese at start.
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,507
Reaction score
905
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

Question on BFP 47, Seizing Viru Harbor.

USMC can set up anywhere on Boars 32 or 37 except the overlay on board 32. The overlay does not cover hex row A. Does this mean the USMC can set up in hex row A. That leaves the Japanese surrounded on 3 sides. I don't think it is a big issue, but will definitely affect how I set up my Japanese at start.
Been digging thru all of the playtest notes on this one to make sure, and we've come to the conclusion that setting up on Row A of board 32 for the Americans should not be allowed. So with that, the following clarification has been added to the B&J errata.

BFP 47: CLARIFICATION. Set up on row A of board 32 for the Americans is N/A.

PDF files of the errata have been updated. Sticky notes are not effected.

View attachment 45407
View attachment 45409

Rick
 

Nghtflame7

Recruit
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Location
Virginia
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

Been digging thru all of the playtest notes on this one to make sure, and we've come to the conclusion that setting up on Row A of board 32 for the Americans should not be allowed. So with that, the following clarification has been added to the B&J errata.

BFP 47: CLARIFICATION. Set up on row A of board 32 for the Americans is N/A.

PDF files of the errata have been updated. Sticky notes are not effected.

View attachment 45407
View attachment 45409

Rick
Oh well. Got my butt handed to me. Surrounded and destroyed in detail. No way to flee the board; my forces were leaderless by turn 4 and by turn 5 every single Japanese unit had been eliminated.
 

bprobst

Elder Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,090
Reaction score
750
Location
Melbourne, Australia
First name
Bruce
Country
llAustralia
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

Hi, there appears to be a minor error on the scenario card for BFP43 "Aerodrome P1". The Braat APC illustration in the Japanese OB should have 20MP, not 19, per the actual counter and Chapter H details.
 

Paul M. Weir

Forum Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Apr 3, 2004
Messages
8,269
Reaction score
3,212
Location
Dublin
First name
Paul
Country
llIreland
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

Hi, there appears to be a minor error on the scenario card for BFP43 "Aerodrome P1". The Braat APC illustration in the Japanese OB should have 20MP, not 19, per the actual counter and Chapter H details.
The Allied Minor (Dutch) version has 20 MP, however the Axis Minor (Indonesian) version has 19, presumably on the basis that the drivers of the captured vehicles would not be as skilled. Check your Indonesian counters and Chapter H.
 

bprobst

Elder Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,090
Reaction score
750
Location
Melbourne, Australia
First name
Bruce
Country
llAustralia
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

The Allied Minor (Dutch) version has 20 MP, however the Axis Minor (Indonesian) version has 19, presumably on the basis that the drivers of the captured vehicles would not be as skilled. Check your Indonesian counters and Chapter H.
... what?

The Japanese have just invaded and have just captured this AC. Are you saying that the AC that they just captured, was already captured? By who? These are literally the first Japanese units in the area. Who are "Axis Minor Indonesians" any way?

It's not an idle question. In the scenario, the AC has a temp crew, so the available MP is one-half the printed value. That 0.5 MP is pretty precious to the Japanese.

It makes no sense for the Japanese to be using an already-captured vehicle that isn't identical to the non-captured version. "Axis Minor Indonesian" sounds like something that would be more appropriate for a late-war scenario, when "rebel" troops were resisting "liberation".
 

Paul M. Weir

Forum Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Apr 3, 2004
Messages
8,269
Reaction score
3,212
Location
Dublin
First name
Paul
Country
llIreland
Re: Additional BFP 3 Q&A

... what?

The Japanese have just invaded and have just captured this AC. Are you saying that the AC that they just captured, was already captured? By who? These are literally the first Japanese units in the area. Who are "Axis Minor Indonesians" any way?

It's not an idle question. In the scenario, the AC has a temp crew, so the available MP is one-half the printed value. That 0.5 MP is pretty precious to the Japanese.

It makes no sense for the Japanese to be using an already-captured vehicle that isn't identical to the non-captured version. "Axis Minor Indonesian" sounds like something that would be more appropriate for a late-war scenario, when "rebel" troops were resisting "liberation".
The Indonesian forces that fought against the returning Dutch, see BFP 71 "Surabaya Slugfest" and 72 "Police Action", which use Axis Minor coloured counters. The Indonesian forces have their own BFP chapter H section.

As for the choice of counter, well that was BFP's choice (I am not a part of BFP), I did not say it did or did not make for sense or wisdom.
 
Top