Immobilised Vehicles and Smoke Dispensers and MP Expenditure

The Purist

Elder Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,911
Reaction score
1,466
Location
In my castle by the sea, Trochu, AB
First name
Gerry
Country
llCanada
This came up in this morning's game.

An immobilised vehicle can no longer move/change VCA but does it retain its full MP allotment? D13.2 (Smoke Dispensers) requires the expenditure of 1 MP but does said immobilised vehicle have any to use? :unsure:

We figured yes but D8.1 and 13.2 does not really say so.
 

EagleIV

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
1,193
Reaction score
397
Location
California
Country
llUnited States
An immobilized vehicle can expend MP as long as it doesn't expend any to start or change its VCA, so yes a Smoke Dispenser can be used.
 

Eagle4ty

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
5,724
Reaction score
3,560
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
This came up in this morning's game.

An immobilised vehicle can no longer move/change VCA but does it retain its full MP allotment? D13.2 (Smoke Dispensers) requires the expenditure of 1 MP but does said immobilised vehicle have any to use? :unsure:

We figured yes but D8.1 and 13.2 does not really say so.
Yes per D8.5: "Assuming an Inherent crew that is not broken/stunned/shocked, a bogged/immobilized vehicle may still expend MP for "non-movement" purposes (e.g., to change TCA, [un]load PRC, fire Smoke Dispensers, etc.), and its firing capabilities are unchanged except as related to its inability to change VCA.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
18,412
Reaction score
5,313
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
It can even spend MP for sD (or other "non-movement") the turn it becomes Immobilized (if it happens in the the vehicle's MPh and it has MP remaining).
 
Top