A10.51 "if that hex is no farther from a Known enemy unit than its starting hex"...
C6 is no farther from D4 than E5.
Both are at 2 hexes distance.
I think C6 is ignorable.
Phew... I feel suddenly older.
In this case it can ignore U5 since both U5 and V4 are six hexes from Z8. It can't ignore S4 and S6, as those hexes are 7 and 8 hexes from Z8. I.e., the distance from Z8 compared to from V4 increases.
So If I understand well, the distance comparison is made vs each KEU case individually, not as a whole situation, right ?No. See post 16 to see which distances are compared.
D4 is two hexes from C6. Broken unit is one hex from D4. So C6 takes the broken unit farther away from D4.
Correct. A hex might not be ignorable due to one Known enemy unit, but could be due to another.So If I understand well, the distance comparison is made vs each KEU case individually, not as a whole situation, right ?
Correct.In this particular case, the end result (ignorable hex or not) varies according to this Interpretation.
1- individual case comparisons : vs D4 squad (from 1 hex to 2) , vs D3 HS (from 2 hexes to 3) so C6 is mandatory
It was a question of which distances to compare - not whether one looked at each unit individually.2- whole situation case : D3 is 2 hexes away from Brokie at start , C6 is 2 hexes away from D4 (also KEU at start) so C6 is ignorable.
I think this is the debate here.
Not quite....First, the HS in D3 is a KEU to the brokie and 2 hexes away. Hex C6 is also 2 hexes distance from the brokie and as such can be ignored as a rout destination, A10.51 EXC as you noted since this releases the broken unit from having to claim C6 as the nearest in MF.
English is read the way it is written. Why not change the rule so it reads EXACTLY AS ABOVE -- that is, issue the errata officially as you've stated it -- so it's more clear and is not subject to misinterpretation?A10.51 should be read like this:
"A routing unit may also ignore a building/woods hex if that hex is no farther from a Known enemy unit than its starting hex IS FROM THAT SAME KNOWN ENEMY UNIT."
If you don't end up farther away from the enemy, you can ignore it - otherwise not.
The destination can be the same distance to a KEU or farther away. The middle of the first sentence in A10.51 says that a routing unit can't rout towards a KEU that is has seen during that RtPh even if it can't see that unit any more precluding the destination being closer to a Known (to the routing unit) Enemy Unit.Where does it say the rout destination has to be further away than the KEU. It states the the ignorable destination has to be no further away than it starting hex.