getting boards to WORK in vasl 4

Oberst Balck

Reaction score
Country
llAustralia
Hi,

I am new to VASL 4. I have the program ALMOST working but cannot get any board to show - in particular the only one I have downloaded - Red Barricades.

The RB board is in program files/vassal and vassal/boards. The program says " No board found". Well, its there how do I get the program to find it and then show it ?

I really want to get this up n' running gents.

Thanks in advance.

Eric

Anonymous

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
board location in preferences

Go to File>Edit Preferences>General and make sure that the Board Directory listed there is where you are actually putting your downloaded map files. They are usually in the boards subdirectory of the VASL installation directory, NOT the VASSAL installation directory.

Jeff Leslie

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
Sorry I didn't reply to this earlier. It amazes me that of all the posts relating to the map fail-to-load problem in VASL 4, the first solution people offer is "make sure you have your boards in the ...\VASL\boards folder". While I'm sure that there may be some people out there that have problems following the directions in the users guide (we don't need no steenking directions...), the real issue here is that there is definitely a map loading bug in VASL 4.

See this post for more info:

http://www.natmallet.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=30

Jeff L

Chris Milne

Reaction score
Country
ll
Jeff, I don't think anyone is trying to be patronising when they say to check the directory (well, I'm not anyway). It just seems to be best to start with the simplest possible problem and then work up from there. Unfortunately, in my case, once we're past the simplest solution, I'm usually lost :)

As regards the BRT map, I'm going to try to replicate your problem tomorrow (going to bed now!) Could you let me know exactly which versions of VASSAL, VASL, and the map you are using please? Cheers!

Oberst Balck