FPF after Residual KIA

Paul John

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 1970
Messages
150
Reaction score
31
Location
Cincinnati Ohio
Country
llUnited States
A unit enters a hex in which an Infantry unit would normally be required to defensive fire (first, subsequent or final protective, A8.312) based on that unit's entry of the hex. If said unit is eliminated by a K/ or KIA due to residual FP, must the in hex Infantry still fire?
What about if the entering unit is eliminated by fire from outside the hex?
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
20,073
Reaction score
4,457
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
A unit enters a hex in which an Infantry unit would normally be required to defensive fire (first, subsequent or final protective, A8.312) based on that unit's entry of the hex. If said unit is eliminated by a K/ or KIA due to residual FP, must the in hex Infantry still fire?
What about if the entering unit is eliminated by fire from outside the hex?
One does not ask for q&a by posting to the PerrySez forum. MMP does not monitor that forum regularly. One submits for a q&a by sending e-mail to asl_qa@multimanpublishing.com per their support page (http://www.multimanpublishing.com/Support/ASLASLSK/ASLOfficialErrata/tabid/107/Default.aspx). Then one waits. Patiently. Very patiently some times. After one receives a reply from MMP, one posts the reply in the PerrySez forum.

JR
 
Last edited:

Kijug

Member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
66
Reaction score
23
Location
Texas
Country
llUnited States
Short answer: no.

A8.22 "Existing Residual FP is always the first Defensive First Fire attack allowed against a moving unit in its current Location during its MPh."

If a unit enters a hex and is eliminated due to a Residual FP attack, no other attacks are necessary. If the unit survives the Residual FP attack, then normal Defensive Fire principles apply (First, Final, FPF, etc.)

Fire from "outside the hex" can only occur after the in-hex Residual FP attack. Again, normal Defensive Fire principles apply then for any attack against the moving unit(s).
 

Jazz

Inactive
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
10,512
Reaction score
985
Country
llLithuania
This is NOT a PerrySez from the oracle. You must submit your questions to MMP at their web page to get a ruling from Perry.

Moving this to rules section where it belongs.
 
Top