Forgotten War Q & A.

Rob MacDonald

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
72
Reaction score
10
Location
Ottawa
Country
llCanada
216 Centurions Reverse!: In the CPVA setup instructions, change “81T4” to “83T4”.
My question concerns the British on board set up instructions, not that for the CPVA. Setting up <= 3 hexes of 81I6 does not provide any legal (i.e. non-steep hill hex) for the British AVFs to set up in.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
20,517
Reaction score
4,820
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
My question concerns the British on board set up instructions, not that for the CPVA. Setting up <= 3 hexes of 81I6 does not provide any legal (i.e. non-steep hill hex) for the British AVFs to set up in.
Although by SSR1 KW Terrain [W.3] is in effect, Steep Hills are not part of KW Terrain. You need a separate SSR to invoke Steep Hills, e.g. SSR1 for 204 "Human Bullets."

JR
 
Last edited:

Rob MacDonald

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2004
Messages
72
Reaction score
10
Location
Ottawa
Country
llCanada
Although by SSR1 KW Terrain [W.3] is in effect, Steep Hills are not part of KW Terrain. You need a separate SSR to invoke Steep Hills, e.g. SSR1 for 204 "Human Bullets."

JR
Thank you, JR. I missed the SSR qualification regarding Steep Hills
 

Yuri0352

Elder Member
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
1,676
Reaction score
617
Location
25-30 Hexes
Country
llUnited States
I'm preparing to play ASL 210, This is Where We Stand.
I have a question regarding the end of SSR 1 ...'cliffs do not exist '.
Would a former cliff hex side such as those within 2S7 and 2T6 be treated as a 'double crest' hex side (B10.52), such as that in hex 82K1 ?

Thank you!
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
20,517
Reaction score
4,820
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
I'm preparing to play ASL 210, This is Where We Stand.
I have a question regarding the end of SSR 1 ...'cliffs do not exist '.
Would a former cliff hex side such as those within 2S7 and 2T6 be treated as a 'double crest' hex side (B10.52), such as that in hex 82K1 ?
The only effect of a double crest line is that vehicles can't cross one and Cavalry can't charge across one. Since the scenario does not have any vehicles nor Cavalry, I don't see that whether the hexside is or is not a double crest has any effect. It is still a two-level change of elevation, with all that entails for going up and down, LOS, etc.

JR
 

Yuri0352

Elder Member
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
1,676
Reaction score
617
Location
25-30 Hexes
Country
llUnited States
A question for the designers of Forgotten War regarding W7.8, Bugles.

Was there any consideration of providing some type of 'Bugle' info counter which would serve as a reminder that bugles had been sounded during a player turn? I have a tendency to forget this especially when pausing a game in progress. I've been using a gunflash counter for this purpose, however considering the extent of detail within the ASL system, I was a bit surprised a bugle info counter was not part of the counter mix.

I've really been enjoying playing the CPVA BTW!
 

Ganjulama

Tuco B.P.J. Maria Ramirez
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
2,012
Reaction score
591
Location
Wilmington, NC
Country
llUnited States
A question for the designers of Forgotten War regarding W7.8, Bugles.

Was there any consideration of providing some type of 'Bugle' info counter which would serve as a reminder that bugles had been sounded during a player turn? I have a tendency to forget this especially when pausing a game in progress. I've been using a gunflash counter for this purpose, however considering the extent of detail within the ASL system, I was a bit surprised a bugle info counter was not part of the counter mix.

I've really been enjoying playing the CPVA BTW!
I just play the bugle sound on my phone every turn. It’s like when Ramsey Bolton kept playing his bugle outside of Winterfell. My opponents go insane.
 

Justiciar

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
4,858
Reaction score
1,429
Location
Within Range
Country
llUnited States
A question for the designers of Forgotten War regarding W7.8, Bugles.

Was there any consideration of providing some type of 'Bugle' info counter which would serve as a reminder that bugles had been sounded during a player turn? I have a tendency to forget this especially when pausing a game in progress. I've been using a gunflash counter for this purpose, however considering the extent of detail within the ASL system, I was a bit surprised a bugle info counter was not part of the counter mix.

I've really been enjoying playing the CPVA BTW!
No there was not. That perhaps, no not perhaps, is my fault as I orchestrated the bugle rule section. I did not think of a counter for that purpose. Perhaps this can be adjusted in some future release of counters, but do not count on this note being heard.
 

Major Issues

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2018
Messages
227
Reaction score
645
Location
Secane, PA
First name
Vince
Country
llUnited States
Gloster Hill. Daytime. Bugles declared. Non-IPM. Chinese unit WISHES to move. When does the UN Jitter Fire DR happen, before or after Assault Movement/ Non-Assault Movement is DECLARED. Ie: is the WISH indicated by the movement declaration, or separate from it?
There is no Jitter Fire. See W7.82. It only applies from 10/50 to 3/51. Gloster Hill is set in April 1951.
 

boylermaker

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
300
Reaction score
126
Location
Virginia
Country
llUnited States
I notice that ROK marine 238 squads have their firepower in bold. Does this mean something, or is it just a vagary of the printing process?
 

Augie

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
669
Reaction score
116
Location
Florida
Country
llUnited States
I have a CPVA rules question or clarification in regards to being Disrupted. W7.1 is quite unequivocal about 2nd Line squads are not Disrupted, but 7.233 goes on to say that 2nd Line squads resulting HS are Disrupted for certain other breaks. Also left unsaid is whether if a 2nd Line HS exceeded its ELR could it become Disrupted. I am looking for inputs. The relevant rules quotes are below, with bolds from me:

"7.1 CHINESE PEOPLES VOLUNTEER ARMY (CPVA): ....There are no Conscript/Green MMC, but 2nd Line squads that suffer ELR Replacement are not Disrupted."
"7.22 ATTACK BREAK: An armed, non-berserk CPVA squad that fails an IFT/Collateral-Attack/Bombardment/FPF MC (but does not suffer Casualty Reduction), or "breaks" due to a KIA result (A7.301), or suffers a dr "1" sniper attack is always affected in one of the following ways (7.221-.225): "
"7.225 If 2nd Line (regardless of whether Full- or Reduced-Strength) and it exceeds its ELR, it is Replaced by one of its broken HS."
"7.23 OTHER BREAK: An armed, non-berserk CPVA squad that suffers a break result directly due to a cause other than those listed in 7.22 (e.g., due to its Bailing Out, Voluntarily Breaking, Wreck Check, Para Landing, WP MC, OVR Prevention MC, or Panji MC) is always affected in ≥ one of the following ways (unless it suffers Casualty Reduction; 7.24):"
"7.233 In addition, if it breaks by an amount > its ELR (but does not roll an Original 12), the one or two broken HS for which it is exchanged will be 2nd Line (if the squad was 1st Line) or Disrupted (if the squad was 2nd Line)."
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
20,517
Reaction score
4,820
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
W7.1 is quite unequivocal about 2nd Line squads are not Disrupted, but 7.233 goes on to say that 2nd Line squads resulting HS are Disrupted for certain other breaks. Also left unsaid is whether if a 2nd Line HS exceeded its ELR could it become Disrupted.
CPVA squads are never disrupted. When they step-reduce to halfsquads, they are no longer squads.

W7.22ff only covers full squads. Halfsquads are covered in W7.27, where it says, "2nd Line ... becomes Disrupted when suffering ELR Relacement".

JR
 
Top