Fords in frigid streams

Vinnie

See Dummies in the index
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
15,973
Reaction score
1,796
Location
Aberdeen , Scotland
Country
llUnited Kingdom
Yes, the Ford stream hex is frigid.

....Perry
MMP
By SSR all streams are shallow and frigid.There is a Ford on the stream.B20.7 treats all non dry streams as frigid water obstavles.B20.81 treats movement into a Ford as movement into a stream of depth one less than specified ie. Shallow stream becomes dry.
1. Is the Ford still part of the frigid Water Obstacle with all the consequences?
See http://www.gamesquad.com/forums/index.php?threads/fords-in-shallow-fridgid-streams.153307/#post-1985219
Yours Aye,Martin Vicca
 

The Purist

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,004
Reaction score
96
Location
In my castle by the sea, Calgary, AB
Country
llCanada
I'd like some more explantion on this please.

A shallow stream with a Ford (B20.8) is considered one "classification shallower" as per B20.81. If the stream in the Ford is considered Dry (B20.41) it no longer exists and "it is considered a gully for all purposes...." Gullies cannot be frigid.

Where/how is this interpretation incorrect. Only water obstacles can be frigid and a gully is not a water obstacle.

Cheers.
 

mgmasl

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2006
Messages
4,054
Reaction score
231
Location
Cadiz
First name
Miguel
Country
llSpain
This definition is valid at scenario start.. ie a full stream artwork dry is considered a gully.. but I think there is no stream-gully-stream, ie the full artwork is a stream or is a gully, and here is clearly a stream.. IMHO answer is saying a stream with a ford is considered per movement purposes as a stream one level shallower but is still a shallow stream for all other purposes..
 

The Purist

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,004
Reaction score
96
Location
In my castle by the sea, Calgary, AB
Country
llCanada
It can't be both. :) If the depth changes as per B20.8 such that it becomes a dry stream then B20.41 must be applied despite B20.7.

In fact, I would think that E2 applies - B20.8 comes after B20.7 thus the contradiction is resolved in favour of B20.8. That's my view in any case.

It's not worth a big confustication, really, and I do not expect Perry to add anything to his ruling. With the rules as written I would have to play it as a gully and not a water obstacle. ;) But that is just me.
 

Perry

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
1,322
Reaction score
978
Location
Baltimore, MD
Country
llUnited States
B20.8 "...the ford...is treated as a stream...hex except as amended below."
B20.81 "Movement into a ford stream hex ... is treated as if the water depth were one classification shallower...."

So the only difference is MF/Bog. B20.5 and B20.6 apply unchanged, for example.
 
Top