Firelane with two MGs

WuWei

Elder Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2014
Messages
1,242
Reaction score
1,068
Location
Germany
First name
Tobias
Country
llGermany
I have two squads with two LMGs and a leader in a hex. It's my opponents MPh and there's a human wave rolling, spending 1 MF.

I think I can first lay a firelane by shooting one squad/LMG at one of the HW squads, and all other squads in a firelane hex are immediately attacked by the firelane residual. I can then shoot with my other squad/LMG at another of the enemies squads and lay a firelane, and again all other enemy squads in a firelane hex are attacked by the firelane residual. There are now two firelanes "on top of each other", and if on the next impulse an enemy squad enters one of the firelane hexes, it is attacked twice by the firelanes (and perhaps a third time by the "normal" residual firepower left by the squad's inherent FP). I can use my leader only for one of the attacks. Correct?
 

Robin Reeve

The Swiss Moron
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
20,461
Reaction score
6,705
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
I think you got it right, yes.
 

Smedley

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
370
Reaction score
286
Location
Vermont
Country
llUnited States
Correct, as long as the targets occupy different locations.

Rob
 

Eagle4ty

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
6,926
Reaction score
5,136
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
Yes as per A8.21, "...although Fire Lane Residual FP is not a Residual FP counter and therefore can co-exist with other Fire Lane counters or Residual FP counters; 9.222)."
 

EagleIV

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
1,082
Location
California
Country
llUnited States
What, didn't you put 2 leaders in the location, one for each LMG? Then you could have 1 leader direct each attack and you don't have to worry about cowaring.

Yes, with the note Smedley added you have it correct.
 

WuWei

Elder Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2014
Messages
1,242
Reaction score
1,068
Location
Germany
First name
Tobias
Country
llGermany
I just noticed that in A7.55 Mandatory Firegroups, there's an exception for Firelanes! So, in the above example, could both of my squads lay firelanes by shooting at the same enemy location?
For example: Leader directed squad 1 with inherent firepower and squad 2 with inherent firepower and LMG laying a firelane at the enemy, and then, on the same MF, squad 1 at the same target, this time LMG only to also lay a firelane. Is that possible?
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
20,412
Reaction score
8,234
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
I just noticed that in A7.55 Mandatory Firegroups, there's an exception for Firelanes! So, in the above example, could both of my squads lay firelanes by shooting at the same enemy location?
For example: Leader directed squad 1 with inherent firepower and squad 2 with inherent firepower and LMG laying a firelane at the enemy, and then, on the same MF, squad 1 at the same target, this time LMG only to also lay a firelane. Is that possible?
No. The EXC in A7.55 is for already established Fire Lanes.

A9.22:
"Fire Lane FG are NA; i.e., each MG must create a separate Fire Lane even if using the same Hex-Grain/IFT-DR as another. "
 

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,996
Reaction score
2,649
Location
Massachusetts
First name
Scott
Country
llUnited States
But does that mean two 2-FP LMGs must create two 1 FP FLs and not a single 2-FP FL, or if multiple MGs are part of a FG, only one can lay a FL? Because a strict reading of "Fire Lane FG are NA" under the later interpretation would prohibit MGs in different Locations from leaving FL too. The "even if using the same Hex-Grain/IFT-DR as another" seems to imply that the first interpretation is correct.
 

EagleIV

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
1,082
Location
California
Country
llUnited States
Two MGs, both in the same location, both have already placed FLs that either overlap (see the A9.222 EX, the red and blue FL overlap in K7 but not in J6/K6) or exactly coincide would make separate attacks when resolving the FL attacks (not the initial attack) since FL can't FG.

If you are referring to the initial attacks, then yes they have to FG if attacking the same initial target location, but if they make 2 separate initial attacks, at different locations but along the same hexgrain it is possible to have both FL completely coincide.
 
Last edited:

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,996
Reaction score
2,649
Location
Massachusetts
First name
Scott
Country
llUnited States
The question is if a FG with two MGs can place two FLs with the one attack. It seems that people are saying no, not even if the two FLs only overlap in one Location, e.g. if units in 1F5, G5, and H5, with MGs in F5 and H5, D1F at a unit in G5, the two MGs cannot each place a FL (one from F5 to M2, and the other from H5 to E4).
 

EagleIV

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
1,082
Location
California
Country
llUnited States
I agree with Klas, 1 squad with 2MG can place 2 FL with either 1 or 2 attacks and the FL can either overlap completely or partially (or in the case of 2 attacks not overlap at all) as long as each separate FL conforms to the FL rules.
 

Larry

Elder Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2003
Messages
5,603
Reaction score
1,957
Location
Guada La Habra
Country
llUnited States
Spray fire the squads and their LMG each at two different hexes, leaving the overlapping firelanes and four locations with 1 FP from the squads in four different hexes.
 

Stewart

Elder Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
3,732
Reaction score
735
Location
Russia
Country
llRussia
The question is if a FG with two MGs can place two FLs with the one attack.
They aren't placed with the ONE attack, they are placed with the SAME MF expenditure. There is a difference there.
Nothing stops choosing a different target. the stack of squads adn LMGs could attack 4 different locations with the same singular MF expenditure.
And layer the FL's on top.

AND this is why HW's fail when you don't at least neutralize the big MG pits.
 

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,996
Reaction score
2,649
Location
Massachusetts
First name
Scott
Country
llUnited States
I must have misinterpreted some of the earlier posts since we all seem to agree. Two or more MGs in a FG can all place independent FLs regardless of the MGs Locations (same or different or a mix) and the FLs position (overlapping in only one Location, many Locations, or identical).
 
Top