Fire lanes and cowering

c600g

Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
135
Reaction score
88
Location
Oceanside, CA
Country
llUnited States
A Russian 4-4-7 1st line squad with 2-6 LMG declares a fire lane attack (only - no inherent squad FP will be used) against a FFNAM, FFMO German 4-6-7 squad that is 2 hexes away. Let's see if I understand fire lanes correctly:

1. The attack on the moving unit should be on the 2 FP column with a -2 DRM.
2. The attacker rolls snake eyes, so the attack covers to the 1 FP column, which result in a 1 KIA result, eliminated the German 4-6-7 squad.
3. Since the manning squad cowered, no fire lane is placed, the squad is marked with Final Fire, and no residual is left in the hex.

Is this correct? Thanks for the assistance,
Alan
 

buser333

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
678
Reaction score
186
Location
central WI
A Russian 4-4-7 1st line squad with 2-6 LMG declares a fire lane attack (only - no inherent squad FP will be used) against a FFNAM, FFMO German 4-6-7 squad that is 2 hexes away. Let's see if I understand fire lanes correctly:

1. The attack on the moving unit should be on the 2 FP column with a -2 DRM.
2. The attacker rolls snake eyes, so the attack covers to the 1 FP column, which result in a 1 KIA result, eliminated the German 4-6-7 squad.
3. Since the manning squad cowered, no fire lane is placed, the squad is marked with Final Fire, and no residual is left in the hex.

Is this correct? Thanks for the assistance,
Alan
Right on.
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,183
Reaction score
1,161
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
Yeah, don't you hate it when you roll snake eyes :)
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,899
Reaction score
1,511
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
A Russian 4-4-7 1st line squad with 2-6 LMG declares a fire lane attack (only - no inherent squad FP will be used) against a FFNAM, FFMO German 4-6-7 squad that is 2 hexes away. Let's see if I understand fire lanes correctly:

1. The attack on the moving unit should be on the 2 FP column with a -2 DRM.
2. The attacker rolls snake eyes, so the attack covers to the 1 FP column, which result in a 1 KIA result, eliminated the German 4-6-7 squad.
3. Since the manning squad cowered, no fire lane is placed, the squad is marked with Final Fire, and no residual is left in the hex.

Is this correct? Thanks for the assistance,
Alan
That is correct if the attack mentioned is the initial attack and no other circumstances were applicable (e.g. the firer was not Fanatic, etc.). However, if the FL had already been placed and the moving unit had been attacked by the FL (also a 1FP -2 shot in this instance), the FL would be unaffected because it is considered Residual Fire Power and is not subject to cowering (A8.224) nor would it be canceled (A9.223).
 

c600g

Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
135
Reaction score
88
Location
Oceanside, CA
Country
llUnited States
However, if the FL had already been placed and the moving unit had been attacked by the FL (also a 1FP -2 shot in this instance), the FL would be unaffected because it is considered Residual Fire Power and is not subject to cowering (A8.224) nor would it be canceled (A9.223).
BUT if a placed FL attack rolls >= the MG's B#, it does MALF and cancel the fire lane. ;>

Alan
 
Top