Everything I know about (.........) l learned from ASL

Actionjick

Forum Guru
Reaction score
First name
Darryl
Country
llUnited States
It can be just about anything, doesn't have to be game related, just something that playing ASL has given you a better understanding of.

For me there are two, the Eastern Front and Cutthroat Kitchen.

Growing up I was not very familiar with the war on the Eastern Front. The only thing I really remember was the references to it on the tv show Hogan's Heroes. German soldiers who messed up would be threatened with losing their cushy job at the POW camp and be sent to the Eastern Front. This seemed to them to be tantamount to a death sentence. It wasn't until I started playing Squad Leader that I took an interest in that theater and understood why those German soldiers felt such dread at the prospect of being transferred there.

Cutthroat Kitchen is a culinary competition and combines two of my favorite activities, gaming and cooking. Four chefs start out with $25,000 and through three rounds are assigned dishes to cook with one chef being eliminated each round and losing their money. The gaming aspect comes into play as the chefs are given the opportunity to purchase sabotages in an auction with which to cause their opponents discomfort. The winner leaves with the money they have left.