ESB and immobilization

Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
547
Reaction score
19
Location
Oz
Country
llAustralia
An AFV will get to the hex it wants even if it fails a ESB roll

" A tracked vehicle may attempt once per MPh (at any point during its move) to exceed its land MP allotment at the risk of Immobilization."

It chooses to do so at the end of its MPh.

But, does this failure of ESB which causes the AFV to become immobile require an immob TC ?

There is not a specific answer in the rules..

Thank you
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,498
Reaction score
559
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
The ESB attempt can be rolled for at any point during the AFV's move, but must be made before it expends the additional MPs to be gained. An ESB DR is an attempt to exceed the vehicle's MPs. You can't exceed your MPs unless you have already gained them.

No Immobilized TC required as per D5.5:

D5.5 An immediate TC is required of the non-Shocked, non-Stunned Inherent crew of a vehicle [EXC: one in a Water Obstacle; 16.3] that becomes immobilized by any non-CC attack, or that is already bogged/immobilized and is hit by Direct Fire ordnance which fails to destroy, Stun, or Shock it but that would have destroyed or Shocked it with an Original TK or IFT DR of 5.​
 
Last edited:

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,123
Reaction score
5,257
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
An AFV will get to the hex it wants even if it fails a ESB roll

" A tracked vehicle may attempt once per MPh (at any point during its move) to exceed its land MP allotment at the risk of Immobilization."

It chooses to do so at the end of its MPh.
It has to take the ESB DR before it can use the MPs.

But, does this failure of ESB which causes the AFV to become immobile require an immob TC ?

There is not a specific answer in the rules..
D5.5: Immobilization Task Checks are taken when a non-CC attack results in immobilization, or if already bogged/immobilized the vehicle is hit by Direct Fire ordnance that would have destroyed or shocked it with an original TK or IFT DR of 5. Because there are no other rules requiring an Immobilization TC, the crew will not take an Immobilization TC if it bogs/immobilizes in any other way, including ESB but also due to bogging by terrain, immobilizing due to Bog Removal roll, Mechanical Reliability, immobilization due to CC result, attack by non-Direct-Fire on a bogged/immobile vehicle that would destroy/shock it on a 5 result, etc.

JR
 
Last edited:

gamesmeister

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
214
Reaction score
33
Location
Chertsey, Surrey
Country
llUnited Kingdom
So just to clarify this - my tank has 14MP, and I want to use 15 during the turn. So at any point during the turn, I can make an ESB roll to get that extra MP, correct? I don't have to roll just before I spend it.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
16,080
Reaction score
2,561
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
So just to clarify this - my tank has 14MP, and I want to use 15 during the turn. So at any point during the turn, I can make an ESB roll to get that extra MP, correct? I don't have to roll just before I spend it.
Correct.
 

Vinnie

See Dummies in the index
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
16,019
Reaction score
1,841
Location
Aberdeen , Scotland
Country
llUnited Kingdom
So just to clarify this - my tank has 14MP, and I want to use 15 during the turn. So at any point during the turn, I can make an ESB roll to get that extra MP, correct? I don't have to roll just before I spend it.
If you need that extra MP, work out where the best place to be immobilized in and make the roll there.
 
Top