Enter, exit, and Vehicle changes in terrain next to a marsh question

Chipwert

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
103
Reaction score
13
Location
Arizona
First name
Chip
Country
llUnited States
All,
Does a fully tracked AFV have to roll bog to exit a hex next to a marsh hex? Does it have to roll to change VCA? To leave?
Thanks
 

Attachments

Chipwert

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
103
Reaction score
13
Location
Arizona
First name
Chip
Country
llUnited States
Thanks for the reply. I think my confusion comes in a "bog hex" not being fully defined.

Here are the rules that define bog in hexes next to marsh:

B16.43 BOG: Any ground level or level -1 hex adjacent to a marsh/mudflat hex is a Bog hex requiring a Bog Check of any vehicle entering it along a nonroad hexside [EXC: 16.8].

D8.2 ... A vehicle must make a Bog Check as dictated by the Terrain Chart for entering, or exiting or making any VCA change (one Bog DR per hexspine) in, certain terrain types termed Bog hexes.

So the terrain chart does not say anything about the hex adjacent to marsh hexes as being "bog hex" neither in the marsh rules or as a separate entry. Here again we are given the term Bog hex which is (in my mind) not adequately defined in the index nor in the rules.

Thanks again and any thoughts?
 

Robin Reeve

The Swiss Moron
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
20,384
Reaction score
6,598
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
I think that "entering" restricts the conditions of application of the Bog check.
Exiting and VCA change would be excluded because of that precision.
 

Chipwert

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
103
Reaction score
13
Location
Arizona
First name
Chip
Country
llUnited States
Thanks, ya that is how we played it but it could maybe be a bit clearer. I find there are times when they use a term but don't fully define it and sometimes used very casually.
 
Top