E4.21 Ski questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

ScottRomanowski

Elder Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
979
Reaction score
1,242
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
From Q&A submitted by Robert Hammond:

From: Perry Cocke
Date: August 6, 2022 at 11:01:02 AM PDT
To: Robert Hammond
Subject: A to E4.21 Seven Ski Questions

My questions are as follows:

1. In rule E4.21, fourth sentence - should "it began" be changed to "that unit begins"?

<<The "it" in "it began" refers to the new owner.>>

2. If a ski-capable squad uses a ski counter, then unpossess that ski counter, then a SMC who is ski-capable Recovers that ski counter - does the SMC Recover the entire ski counter?

<<Yes.>>

3. A ski-capable SMC uses a ski counter and then Transfers that ski counter to a ski-capable squad. Does the squad all have skis so they may now be Skiers (E4.2)?

<<Yes.>>

4. A non-ski capable Personnel Recovers a ski counter during the MPh by expending 1 MF. Is the "ski-use dr" considered part of the 1 MF expended during the Recovery?

<<The use dr is not associated with a MF expenditure; it comes after.>>

5. If a non-ski capable Personnel conducts a ski-use dr and the ski-use dr is a "1", does this qualify that unit as being ski capable for the duration of the scenario or that this unit may use only this ski counter for the duration of the scenario?

<<Neither.>>

6. If a non-ski capable Personnel conducts a ski-use dr and this unit made a ski-use dr of "1", must this unit conduct a ski-use dr everytime it Recovers a ski counter? What if it Recovers the same ski counter?

<<Yes to both.>>

7. If a non-ski capable Personnel conducts a ski-use dr and this unit made a ski-use dr of "2-6", may that unit conduct another ski-use dr if it Recovers another ski counter or is that unit prohibited from conducting any further ski-use dr for the remainder of the scenario?

<<It may attempt another ski-use dr.>>

....Perry
MMP
 

ScottRomanowski

Elder Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
979
Reaction score
1,242
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
And another one:

From: Perry
Date: August 9, 2022 at 10:41:05 AM CDT
To: Robert Hammond
Subject: A to Q on Squad with Skis Deploys

Q. If a squad with a ski counter deploys, do both half squads now have a ski counter or does only one of the half squads have ski counter?

A. Both.

....Perry
MMP
 

ScottRomanowski

Elder Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
979
Reaction score
1,242
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
And more:
From: Perry
Date: August 9, 2022 at 5:06:36 PM CDT
To: Robert Hammond
Subject: A to More Ski Questions

1. A squad with a ski counter and on skis generates a leader or Hero. The SMC wishes to ski away from the squad. Does the SMC now have its own ski counter?
A. Yes.

2. Two half squads, each with their own ski counter, recombine into a squad. Do both ski counters combine into one ski counter or do both ski counters remain?
A. One counter.

3. There are a few official scenarios that list troops as being ski troops or ski capable. However, the OB does not show ski counters as being part of the OB. Are ski counters only placed at scenario start or can ski counters be placed/generated during play for these troops?
A. Names? Skis should be assigned at start.

4. Would you be open to having assistance in rewording some of the ski rules with the new release of HP?
A. The ski rules are not bring rewritten for the HP reprint.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top