E1.8 Gunflash as target

Discussion in 'ASL Rules & Errata' started by Randall Glesing, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. Randall Glesing

    Randall Glesing New Member

    17
    Dec 22, 2015
    Indianapolis Indiana
    If a friendly unit fires at an enemy unit in its own location/hex, thereby placing a gunflash on the friendly unit, can another friendly unit (beyond NVR) then affect the enemy unit if it fires "at" the gunflash?
     
  2. klasmalmstrom

    klasmalmstrom Well-Known Member

    Feb 26, 2003
    Sweden
  3. Brian W

    Brian W Well-Known Member

    Jan 29, 2003
    USA
    The gunflash is Location dependent, so a unit could only fire at the location, not other locations in the hex that don't have gunflashes.
     
    klasmalmstrom likes this.
  4. Eagle4ty

    Eagle4ty Active Member

    Nov 7, 2007
    Eau Claire, Wi
    EXC: Area Target Type (in some cases).
     
  5. Brian W

    Brian W Well-Known Member

    Jan 29, 2003
    USA
    I think the exceptions are E1.82-9; however, I don't see ATT. Maybe you were thinking FFE/SR?
     
  6. jrv

    jrv Vare, legiones redde!

    May 25, 2005
    Teutoburger Wald
    I would think if you used ATT at a hex with a Location marked with a gunflash you would also affect other Locations in that hex. It would be strange if the ground and second levels of a building contained gunflashes but not the first floor that the former two would be attacked by ATT but not the latter. Or perhaps that is a reality argument, and the rules diverge from what would seem to be common sense here.

    JR
     
  7. Brian W

    Brian W Well-Known Member

    Jan 29, 2003
    USA
    I understood gunflashes to be marking locations to fire at, but I see we are talking about what is affected by firing at gunflahses. In any case, ATT cannot affect units out of LOS with one exception for MTRs.
     
  8. Eagle4ty

    Eagle4ty Active Member

    Nov 7, 2007
    Eau Claire, Wi
    Yes, I was thinking of Mortars. However, per C3.33 it doesn't seem it would make a difference as the effects are on units within the "hex" [EXC: for those immune per 3.4]. So if a location was marked with a gunflash, any ATT attack would also hit any other units in the hex that were within its LOS (Prep/DF markers being considered gunflashes as well), that is within NVR or illuminated locations. I believe that if the "gunflash" was placed upon a unit outside of the engaging unit's NVR/Illumination no other units but a mortar would be able to hit other units outside the location of the gunflash, but all could still effect unknown units in that location.
     

Share This Page