E1.43 Loss of Cloaking - Making an attack

Darren Kovacs

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
99
Reaction score
10
Location
Victoria BC
Country
llCanada
1.43 LOSS: Cloaked status is lost, and replaced by its unconcealed actual contents (if any), for any situation that would cause one or more of its units to lose concealment at night (1.31; 1.72), and for making any attack other than a successful Ambush. Once removed, Cloaking counters cannot be regained.

Does this rule suggest that making any attack, unless successful ambush, with a cloaked unit forces loss of cloaking with unconcealed unit placed on map even if no Good Order Enemy unit has an LOS to the firing cloaked unit? Example: firing at a broken enemy unit with no other enemy units having an LOS to the firing unit, within NVR or not.

Must A12.14 be satisfied (LOS from enemy Good Order unit)? Or is this an exclusive cloaking rule?

Darren
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,085
Reaction score
5,226
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
The rule says that, yes. There is no requirement for enemy units to observe the attack. Even attacking an empty hex "on speculation" would be sufficient.

JR
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,085
Reaction score
5,226
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
Note that the player may replace cloaking with regular concealment per E1.422 then perform the attack if retaining concealment in some form is desired in such circumstances.

JR
 

ecz

Partisan Captain
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
4,303
Reaction score
395
Location
Italy
Country
llItaly
in the philosophy of the rule, assuming such a thing exists, Cloacking counters are peculiar and colorful, but they must leave the board quickly and easily.
 
Top