Does HIP for Japanese MMC works differently in SK?

lt_steiner

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
56
Reaction score
29
Location
Paris
Country
llFrance
I am wondering why in the SK4 rulebook, in 8.1.8.5 section, about Japanese HIP, is there a reference to 8.3.3 referring to HIP guns:
HIP is lost as if the HIP Infantry were a Gun as per 6.4 and 8.3.3.
HIP is lost normally per 6.4 when a unit fires or enemy moves in the hex during the MPh, the HIP unit appears on the board unconcealed.
In 8.3.3, a HIP gun that fires appears on the board and may remain concealed depending on the colored die of the TH roll. This does not normally apply to HIP MMC as they do not conduct TH rolls (save for gun crews). or does the same apply when using IFT ?
The only other thing that 8.3.3 adds to 6.4 is when an enemy Infantry unit enters the hex of a HIP unit in the APh, place the HIP unit on board concealed in the CCPh.
I played so far Japanese HIP units as usual not providing them with extra abilities.
 

Eagle4ty

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
5,164
Reaction score
2,842
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
Looks as if 8.1.8.5 needs some cleaning up. It would help, if like the ASRB, they defined HIP as a form of concealment (8.3) and referenced that paragraph instead, or if they had noted the exception to concealment loss in 8.3.3 but should occur to conditions lain out in 8.3. Perhaps it is simply a mistype as there is very little in 8.3.3 that pertains to HIP infantry other than losing HIP status during the CCPh. As Klas has said, there should be no difference for Japanese HIP loss as any other nationality and other than Guns/their-crews losing HIP status there should be no reference to it being dependent upon a cdr of their attack.
 
Top