Ok, getting back to question 2 a bit late on this, my apologies. Ok, so JJ44 and II45, let's have a look.This next question is only because I have not had to deal with railways and pillboxes since about 2007 in RB (and there are differences now).
B32.11 and B32.12 state that a GlRR and EmRR are functionally the same as paved roads (B3) with a few noted exceptions. B30 states a Pillbox can be placed on "any" Road (but not bridges). Unless I am mistaken this means the French pillboxes could be set up on either GlRR or EmRR.
That said, as there is no exception given to B27.1 a Trench could not be placed in a GlRR or EmRR (effectively a paved road) with a pillbox to create a Bunker (B30.8)
(Either way,....I still haven't figured out what to do with the beasties.)
Which leads me to the Bunker rule and definition of "Accessible" in this case. I checked the latest Perry Sez (Mar 2020) but I didn't find what I was looking for.
Assume a Pillbox is in hex DNJJ44, and a Trench is in DNII45. According to the B30.8 text …"A Pillbox counter in the same hex with a trench and/or in a hex Accessible to a Trench counter's hex is considered a Bunker."
The "and/or" here could trip one up a bit but if you read the sentence without the "and" it would read... "A Pillbox counter in the same hex with a trench
and/or in a hex Accessible to a Trench counter's hex is considered a Bunker."
As JJ44 is "Accessible" to II45, is the Pillbox in DNJJ44 therefore a Bunker?
(I should know this and I think the answer is yes but... )
The last couple of minutes are the best. The commander gets the tank into a hull down position and is able to direct the gunner, firing blind through brush, into direct hits using target markers.It was a bit interesting for the first 3-4 minutes but after that,.... meh.
Ach!!! Of course. The un-Beaching is not Infantry MF, it's the vehicle's (Boats's) MP. Got it.… <snip><<The 2 squads in OO12 declare 1 MF to load into LR(A)and they immediately drop down to the -1 level of the river. LR (A) expends 1 MF to un-Beach which puts the LR into hex NN10 with only 1 MP remaining.>>
Incorrect. The 1 MF to Load expends 1 of the Raft's MP's. See also E5.21 toward the bottom of the paragraph. By expending 1 MF to Load, you now have 3 MF to power the raft's Raft's 2 MP FRD. Per this rule, you now have 3 MF remaining and each one is used to power 1/4 the raft's remaining MP FRD. This leaves one and 1 half MP FRD to one. The FRD part is the key. So they get into the drink, but no farther, because in Dinant, it costs 1 MP to Launch as well. This means when crossing a 2 hex wide river on a 2MP Raft, if the Infantry did not begin the move Loaded, it is going to take you two turns to get across due to all Passengers only having 4MF in a turn where they Load/Unload to/from any transport. Rafts included.
See also the example at the bottom of Page E11 in the Pocket Rule Book. Read in a way, because the first couple of examples don't help, but by the end of the last sentence of the first paragraph you have hit paydirt…. <snip>
When I get a chance will IM over the Skype contact. Thanks.Ach!!! Of course. The un-Beaching is not Infantry MF, it's the vehicle's (Boats's) MP. Got it.
Will IM you re Skype or Zoom (I use Zoom but whatever). Also working from home and yes,... I'm in the Mountain Time Zone. Thanks for the support. I'll continue to post summaries once we've communicated.
So I'm struggling with the "aesthetic" nature of these lines too... where EXACTLY is the crest line? where drawn or hexside?One other item that was discussed was the art work along the -1 Water obstacles with large portions of green Level 0 artwork. Unlike the famous 7, 8 and 40 boards, there are many Water hexes with significant amounts of green that could raise questions about the crest lines impact on LOS. For example, the LOS from NN50 to OO50 would appear to have the level 0 crest line in OO50 block the LOS to the centre dot that defines the hex as Water. However, B21.2 holds true and that artwork does not block the LOS through the hex from the higher level an the entire hex is Level -1. The green artwork is there for aesthetic reasons and to give the Meuse it proper "shape". This means an LOS from MM41 to a Boat/Ferry/Pontoon is OO44 is clear.
I think it's blocked - per the normal LOS rules.That was my initial thought too but than he said he talked to one of the designers... Carl?