Different KIA results vs. units in the same Location resolution

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,448
Reaction score
2,016
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
Situation :
An IFT attack vs. units with different DRM in the same Location (e.g. in and out of a foxhole) results in different levels of KIA
(e.g. a 24 FP original DR of 2, barring cower, vs. units in and out of an entrenchment, gives 1KIA and a 3KIA results).

Question :
Does one :
a) resolve the two different KIA results separately (e.g. a RS DR for the units in the entrenchment suffering the 1KIA and a RS DR for the units out of the entrenchment suffering the 3KIA) ?

Or should one:
b) roll one RS for all units affected by the different KIAs - limiting the number of eliminated units to the level of #KIA they suffer ?

a)

....Perry
MMP
 

Eagle4ty

Elder Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
3,904
Reaction score
1,518
Location
Eau Claire, Wi
Country
llUnited States
Now the follow-on question needs to be asked, what if the unit(s) outside the foxhole suffered a KIA result but the units in the foxhole did not, would the unit(s) in the foxhole be automatically broken as per "A7.301 #KIA: At least as many target units in each specifically targeted Location (e.g., Spraying Fire or Canister, but not Area Target Type, attacks) as the number indicated (#) are eliminated (as determined by Random Selection); all remaining target units are automatically broken." Both the unit(s) in and out of the foxhole are targeted and it is a single Location.
 

Binchois

Too many words...
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
1,498
Reaction score
559
Location
Michigan
First name
Lester
Country
llUnited States
Now the follow-on question needs to be asked, what if the unit(s) outside the foxhole suffered a KIA result but the units in the foxhole did not, would the unit(s) in the foxhole be automatically broken as per "A7.301 #KIA: At least as many target units in each specifically targeted Location (e.g., Spraying Fire or Canister, but not Area Target Type, attacks) as the number indicated (#) are eliminated (as determined by Random Selection); all remaining target units are automatically broken." Both the unit(s) in and out of the foxhole are targeted and it is a single Location.
If separate DRM result in separate effects - EX: a 1KIA vs units outside plus a 3MC vs units inside an entrenchment - those effects would only be applied to the units which received that result. So the 3MC units would not be broken by the 1KIA units just as the 1KIA units would not take the 3MC. The 3MC units would no longer be considered targets of the 1KIA result.
 

Ed Donoghue

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
105
Reaction score
64
Location
NC
Country
llUnited States
Now the follow-on question needs to be asked, what if the unit(s) outside the foxhole suffered a KIA result but the units in the foxhole did not, would the unit(s) in the foxhole be automatically broken as per "A7.301 #KIA: At least as many target units in each specifically targeted Location (e.g., Spraying Fire or Canister, but not Area Target Type, attacks) as the number indicated (#) are eliminated (as determined by Random Selection); all remaining target units are automatically broken." Both the unit(s) in and out of the foxhole are targeted and it is a single Location.
Same thread, different circumstances.
2 units in a hex, 1 concealed, 1 unconcealed. AFV MA, fires @ the units w/infantry type fire. TH # on the concealed unit is 2 higher than on the unconcealed unit, no problem. Firer rolls snakes. Is there a RS roll or are both units equally effected?
 

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,448
Reaction score
2,016
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
This is not a rules question thread, but a Perry Sez post.
I would suggest take further questions to the rules folder.
 
Top