Defensive Fire and walls.

Briggs

Recruit
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Country
llUnited States
This came up during playing the Commisars House (i lost btw :( )

My opponent moved a unit over a street from a clear hex, the hexside he crossed to the the street was a hedge (wall).

When i fired i retained ROF on my MMG and i argued that since it cost him 2 MF to enter the road hex i could fire once more with the MMG, but he argued that he did not expend the two MF in the road hex. Note that i had no LOS to the hexside containing the wall. We finally ruled to his favor but decied to ask here :)

So what do you think? Btw the first shot saw him battle harden :shock:

/Briggs
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,144
Reaction score
1,024
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
Briggs said:
My opponent moved a unit over a street from a clear hex, the hexside he crossed to the the street was a hedge (wall).
Your opponent was wrong. The 2 MFs are spent in the location entered.
 

Briggs

Recruit
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Country
llUnited States
Well //#%"#¤ :?

I rolled snake eyes, then the complaint came up and we looked through the rules and ruled his way. The squad would have been KIA, well well :)

Thx for the answer btw :)

/jan
 

UXB

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2004
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
Location
California, USA
Country
llUnited States
Brings up an interesting point

A target MMC starts the Movement Phase in a Shellhole. Ground-level fire vs this MMC crosses a wall hexside ( surrounding the inital hex),
on the other side of which is Open Ground.

I'd like clarification of these MP expenditures and DRMs

The MMC declares Assault move and

1. spends 1 MF to move out of the shellhole
the LMG fires retaining ROF with a DRM of
+2 for the wall
if the unit breaks, it stops in the inital hex

2. spends 1 MF to cross the wall
the LMG fires retaining ROF with a DRM of
-1 for FFMO
if the unit breaks, it stops in the inital hex

3. spends 1 MF to enter the OG
the LMG fires retaining ROF with a DRM of
-1 for FFMO
if the unit breaks, it stops in OG

Thanks
 

Brian W

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
7,144
Reaction score
1,024
Location
USA
Country
llUnited States
Re: Brings up an interesting point

UXB said:
1. spends 1 MF to move out of the shellhole
the LMG fires retaining ROF with a DRM of
+2 for the wall
if the unit breaks, it stops in the inital hex
There is no cost to leaving a shellhole; shellholes are not foxholes. An infantry unit is always in a shellhole in its location unless it has moved into that location and not expended the extra MF to claim shellhole TEM. At the end of its MPh it gains shellhole TEM even if it did not spend the additional MF.

UXB said:
2. spends 1 MF to cross the wall
the LMG fires retaining ROF with a DRM of
-1 for FFMO
if the unit breaks, it stops in the inital hex
No, it spends the MF to cross the wall in the location entered, not in the location left.

UXB said:
3. spends 1 MF to enter the OG
the LMG fires retaining ROF with a DRM of
-1 for FFMO
if the unit breaks, it stops in OG
Yes.
 
Top