Dead men & hex control in Movement Phase.

hayman

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
609
Reaction score
197
Location
Sydney
Country
llAustralia
Just checking: If a squad occupies a hex during the Movement, and then is KIA from Defensive First Fire, they still count as controlling the hex, don't they?
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,307
Reaction score
5,389
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
Just checking: If a squad occupies a hex during the Movement, and then is KIA from Defensive First Fire, they still count as controlling the hex, don't they?
Yes. As soon as they expend the MF and enter the hex (/location/building) they take control. They do this even if they are KIA by a snap shot.

JR
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,307
Reaction score
5,389
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
Interesting.
Although from a "reality" POV it looks as if the unit does not enter the hex if it is attacked by a snap shot, the ASL rules are much more abstracty-wacky than that. When a unit moves into a location, it is in that location. Even with DFF, it can be fired on IN the hex (say from a unit that cannot make a snap shot), then by a snap shot, then IN the hex again, then by another snap shot (the snaps shots would have be by different units). If you think the unit literally first goes across the hexside then into the hex, that modeling isn't what the ASL rules use. The movement action takes place, the unit moves from location to location, then various forms of DFF can take place. But for nearly all purposes the movement action has completed, and nearly all consequences of that action are done. Control happens, but as well revelation of HIP fortifications & guns that would be placed on board as a result of LOS from the unit's new location, the DM-ing of broken units that are ADJACENT after the move, etc. All this happens even if the unit is later eliminated and even if eliminated by a snap shot. Once a movement action is announced, it is completed and all consequences are performed. The one exception I can think of is that DC placement does not happen if the unit pins/breaks. Some players think of ASL as a simulation, but this is one place the simulation breaks down.

JR
 

von Marwitz

Forum Guru
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
9,854
Reaction score
3,078
Location
Kraut Corner
Country
llGibraltar
Yes. As soon as they expend the MF and enter the hex (/location/building) they take control. They do this even if they are KIA by a snap shot.

JR
Indeed. I once lost a scenario, because the enemy buggers dropped dead forward into a hex where the should have dropped backwards. Such things make you remember... :mad:

von Marwitz
 
Top