Dash PBL?

jacobelm

Recruit
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Country
llSweden
If the 747 dashes from S5-T6 will the 447 fire at PBF or not? Does the hex spine (S6/T5) count as adjacent or not?
11988
 
Last edited:

Swiftandsure

Robin Reeve
Silver Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
16,658
Reaction score
2,190
Location
St-Légier
First name
Robin
Country
llSwitzerland
The unit always dashes across a road hex.
The 747 should wisely choose T5 rather than S6 to dash through.
Btw PBL doesn't exist in ASL - but I presume you meant PBF?
And the US squad is not 737 but 747.
 

Pyth

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
992
Reaction score
212
Location
Brooklyn NY
Country
llUnited States
It's up to the American side player. He could dash thru T5 or S6, the unit is in one or the other location as it dashes and the shot's range is at one or the other location. You are never shooting at a unit ON a hexside... you are sometimes checking LOS to the hexside (snapshot) or to a vertex on a hexside but the unit is in one or the other hex.
 

jrv

Forum Guru
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,757
Reaction score
5,851
Location
Teutoburger Wald
Country
llIceland
Does the hex spine (S6/T5) count as adjacent or not?
Although in ASL units can move along hexsides, they can only do so when bypassing a woods/building obstacle [A4.3, D2.3]. Movement along the S6/T5 hexside is not possible because neither hex contains a woods/building. If not using bypass, units move from hex center to hex center like other wargames (although LOS can sometimes be traced to points other than the hex center [A6.12]).

Even when it is using bypass, a unit is always in one of the two hexes. If the particular move is unambiguous (e.g. in your picture moving along the T4/U5 hexside) the player usually won't declare the hex. Where the hex is ambiguous the player must state which one is being bypassed. The choice of hex being bypassed can affect things like range and point blank fire. A unit bypassing the R5/S5 hexside in hex R5 would be at range one from R6 and so subject to the doubling for point blank fire. A unit bypassing that same R5/S5 hexside in S5 would be at range two, and so not subject to doubling for PBF.

JR
 
Top