D7.221 and Street Fighting Ambush -1

Michael R

Minor Hero
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
4,010
Reaction score
2,942
Location
La Belle Province
First name
Michael
Country
llCanada
Opponent's tank comes adjacent to my stack of leader, squad, LMG in a building. Tank is Pz1, so I have the leader direct the LMG as ordnance. LMG hits, but does not stop the tank. Tank enters the stack's hex using VBM. I pass the PAATC for a CC Reaction Fire Attack.

I tell my opponent my stack receives the Street Fighting Ambush -1 DRM because his tank is in bypass of my stack.

He says they do not get it because they have a First Fired SW.

I say that only applies to the type of Street Fighting that takes place against a tank on a road between two buildings, when the attacking infantry actually leaves its hex to CC the tank.

Carl's excellent article didn't give me the answer.
Who is correct?
 

TMike

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
431
Reaction score
9
Location
Columbia, Missouri
Country
llUnited States
NRBH, but I believe your opponent is correct. Since you're marked with a first fire counter you can no longer do Street Fighting and are not able to get the -1 DRM for it.
 

Ralph Malf

***** Veteran
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
667
Reaction score
50
Location
Wisconsin
Country
llUnited States
Note h on the overrun Flowchart says there is Automatic Ambush vs. a Bypassing vehicle UNLESS the defender possesses a SW/Gun that is marked with a First/Final First.

I penciled "Street Fighting" before Automatic Ambush, so I must have found out that this is what the term Automatic Ambush is referring to.

So I say no Street Fighting Ambush because your itchy trigger finger guys fired the MG at the tank.

Rick
 

Bob Miller

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
1,523
Reaction score
191
Location
Chicago
Country
llUnited States
But once CC phase rolls around you will receive that -1 modifier for your attack in that phase. No further TC required as well to conduct that attack. Right? I still get myself crossed up on this.
 

Jazz

Inactive
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
11,689
Reaction score
2,220
Location
The Empty Quarter
Country
llLithuania
...and for the record, this is in the rules at....

ASLML said:
D7.211 STREET FIGHTING: CC Reaction Fire may use Street Fighting (A11.8—including the Street Fighting Ambush -1 CC DRM) vs an ADJACENT vehicle if the units involved meet all the requirements for both. However, Street Fighting CC Reaction Fire may not be attempted by a unit that is, and/or possesses a SW—(including Inherent)/Gun that is, already marked with a First/Final/Intensive/No Fire counter.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
18,848
Reaction score
5,890
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
But once CC phase rolls around you will receive that -1 modifier for your attack in that phase. No further TC required as well to conduct that attack. Right? I still get myself crossed up on this.
Correct on both accounts. You never (I'm pretty sure) have take a PAATC to attack a AFV in the CCPh if that AFV entered your Location during its MPh.
 

Vinnie

See Dummies in the index
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
16,976
Reaction score
2,822
Location
Aberdeen , Scotland
Country
llUnited Kingdom
I don't think so soince the PAATC is required to advance into a location that contains an AFV and the AFV is already in your location...disagreeing with Klas...I'm going to get slapped down again (albeit very politely) aren't I?






11.6 CC vs AN AFV: In order for a MMC to advance into a Location containing a manned Known enemy AFV, it must first pass a PAATC (failure of which causes the unit to become pinned). SMC, Fanatic, and Berserk units are exempt from PAATC. A leader may use his leadership modifier to aid any units in the same Location with their respective PAATC even if he does not advance into the Location himself. All Inexperienced Infantry most take a 1TC rather than a NTC in order to advance into a manned enemy AFV's Location. Once in the same Location with an enemy AFV during the CCPh, no further PAATC is necessary in order to attack it during CC.
 
Last edited:

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
18,848
Reaction score
5,890
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
I don't think so soince the PAATC is required to advance into a location that contains an AFV and the AFV is already in your location...disagreeing with Klas...I'm going to get slapped down again (albeit very politely) aren't I?
Unless I'm missing something, I think we are both saying that a PAATC in the CCPh is not needed, as it was the AFV that drove into the Location during its MPh.
 

Vinnie

See Dummies in the index
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
16,976
Reaction score
2,822
Location
Aberdeen , Scotland
Country
llUnited Kingdom
Yup, here ity is the very gentle smack-down. Okay so this time it was because I failed in my reading of Klas' post.
(Note to self. Do NOT try and correct Klas. He'll be right. You'll be wrong. Even if you are right it's because you read HIS post wrongly.:))
 

SamB

Shut up and play!
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
6,791
Reaction score
382
Location
Seattle, Washington,
Country
llUnited States
And just to add a point...

Street Fighting (-1) and Ambush (-1) are different modifiers and can be cumulative.

Right?

A couple of the posts above made it sound as if "street fighting" and "automatic ambush" were the same thing. I don't think they are.
 

James Taylor

I love women with brains
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
6,486
Reaction score
376
Location
Michigan
Country
llUnited States
And just to add a point...

Street Fighting (-1) and Ambush (-1) are different modifiers and can be cumulative.

Right?

A couple of the posts above made it sound as if "street fighting" and "automatic ambush" were the same thing. I don't think they are.
Different things but mods are not cumulative.

11.8 STREET FIGHTING: Any vehicle in a road hex and ADJACENT to a building hex on both sides of that road is especially vulnerable to CC in that hex.17 All Infantry advancing into that road Location from ground level of one or more of those adjacent building hexes qualify for a Streetfighting Ambush -1/+1 DRM in CC vs the vehicle (not cumulative with the normal -1/+1 CC DRM for Ambush) unless actual Ambush occurs even if the vehicle is accompanied by escorting Personnel.
 

Vinnie

See Dummies in the index
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
16,976
Reaction score
2,822
Location
Aberdeen , Scotland
Country
llUnited Kingdom
They are different but not Stackable. The advantage of ambush lies mainly in the withdrawal. Street fighting allows you to withdraw into adjacent buildings (the old out into the street and back on again). The ambush allows withdrawal anywhere. Of course you don't get ambush unless there is an afvance included in the CC.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
18,848
Reaction score
5,890
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
Ignore (errornous reply to post #11 deleted) (I read the rule more carefully). :)
 
Last edited:

Bret Hildebran

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
4,837
Reaction score
975
Location
NE OH
Country
llUnited States
Ignore (I read the rule more carefully). :)
Hmmm...What are you implying here? You seem to be indicating that they can return to a different location from whence they came (note just talking a vehicle actually in a "street" and not those in bypass). Is that assumption correct?

A11.8 seems clear with "... returned to the same Locations they came from..." with exceptions to stay in hex voluntarily or stuck on wire or via mine attack etc.

Hopefully I'm reading too much into your extraneous comment, but if not enlighten me on what you read where please, if not.
 

klasmalmstrom

Forum Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
18,848
Reaction score
5,890
Location
Sweden
Country
llSweden
Hmmm...What are you implying here? You seem to be indicating that they can return to a different location from whence they came (note just talking a vehicle actually in a "street" and not those in bypass). Is that assumption correct?
No, I just made an errornous reply/comment to post #11, that I later realized was, so I deleted it.

I didn't want to look like a fool, but now I remember that, that ship has sailed a long time ago. :clown::clown:
 

Bret Hildebran

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
4,837
Reaction score
975
Location
NE OH
Country
llUnited States
No, I just made an errornous reply/comment to post #11, that I later realized was, so I deleted it.
Ah, OK - sequentially it made me think you were recanting your views in post #13 rather than a post I never saw. That confused me as I agreed with post #13...

I didn't want to look like a fool, but now I remember that, that ship has sailed a long time ago. :clown::clown:
It's an occupational hazard - offer your opinion enough & you're bound to sound foolish on occasion. Don't worry - you've got at least 99 spot on comments for every foolish one. The rest of us are jealous by your "anti-fool" ratio! :D
 
Top