CtR CG II Initial Scenario IJA HIP Question

mallexen

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
112
Reaction score
86
Location
Mass
Country
llUnited States
Hi all, late to the game, but starting a CGII with Pooch, the American Airborne Fanatic.
Since he's the American Airborne Fanatic, I have the IJA. :)
Initial Scenario SSR 2 says Japanese Units may not setup HIP.
Yet Fortifications (including pillboxes and their contents) may setup HIP in concealment terrain. And fortifications may also be HIP in non-concealment terrain until LOS from an enemy unit exists.
Does SSR 2 override the HIP fortification rules?
I am assuming yes, but that leads to some silliness:
For example, PP27 is a brush hex adjacent to a rubble hex, which makes it a legal setup location for IJA infantry.
If PP27 also contained a Pillbox, the Pillbox would be HIP, but any IJA units would be visible in PP27, standing around in brush, albeit concealed. I guess that concealed stack would be a tell that there are fortifications there.
Is that how others have played it?

-Mike
 
Top