Cowering and ROF

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,711
Reaction score
2,219
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
I'm trying to find the rules in ASLSK#1 that match full ASL's. If a unit with a MG Prep Fires and rolls a 1,1, it cowers and is marked with a Prep Fire counter. But it also kept ROF and I can't find anything in the ASLSK#1 rules that says the MG can't be used again! Where is the ASLSK rule that I'm missing?

For that matter, in full ASL A7.9 says units & all their SW are marked with a Prep Fire counter, and A9.2 says a MG has lost its multiple ROF, it is marked with a Prep Fire counter, but where does it say a unit/its SW marked with a Prep Fire counter doesn't keep ROF? I know it must be there! The only place I can find is in Chapter K (p. K17, right column, end of the second full paragraph).
 

DVexile

Elder Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2022
Messages
661
Reaction score
1,088
Location
Baltimore, MD
First name
Ken
Country
llUnited States
It is all about the marker. If you maintained ROF you do not put a marker on the SW. That is the game mechanic that allows the SW to be fired again, the fact you didn’t put a Prep marker on it. Putting a Prep Fire marker on a SW means it can’t fire again, it hasn’t maintained ROF. There is no such thing as a SW with a Prep Fire marker on it that has maintained ROF. In other words, saying “mark with Prep” is saying “lost ROF”.

EDIT: Looking at the SK rules I do see a discrepancy though. The SK rules only say to mark the “unit” with Prep, while ASL says mark both the unit and all of its SW even if they weren’t used in the attack. The way the SK rule is written an MMC could cower with its inherent FP but still make a later attack with its SW.
 
Last edited:

ScottRomanowski

Forum Guru
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,711
Reaction score
2,219
Location
Massachusetts
Country
llUnited States
I know "it's all about the marker" and how the game works. What I'm looking for is where in the rules does it say that? I'm teaching someone ASLSK and they rolled a 1,1 for a non-leader-directed FG with MGs. The MMCs cowered, and even if all the units were marked with Prep Fire counters, in the rules as written, as I could find anything about this in them, say the MGs maintained ROF and can fire again, and again if they maintain ROF on that shot, and again ... . It seems that a core mechanic is at best only implied. What's needed is something like "Only units not already marked with a Prep Fire counter can attack in the PFPh".
 

zgrose

Elder Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2004
Messages
4,294
Reaction score
1,008
Location
Kingwood, TX
First name
Zoltan
Country
llUnited States
I believe the "missing" bit would be in 1.2.4.1
3.2 says you can only fire once in PFPh, except with weapons maintaining rate. That should cover the "Only units not already marked with a Prep Fire counter can attack in the PFPh". bit since you're marked after your first shot.
3.2.2 says you are marked Prep Fire or Final Fire when you cower
1.2.4.1 says you can fire again with an ROF weapon until you're marked Final Fire

So the implied rule is that 1.2.4.1 "should" say ROF until you're marked Prep-Fire/Final-Fire and that should cover the gap?

(using the SK4 PDF, in case it matters)
 

Stewart

Elder Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
3,459
Reaction score
654
Location
Russia
Country
llRussia
I'm trying to find the rules in ASLSK#1 that match full ASL's. If a unit with a MG Prep Fires and rolls a 1,1, it cowers and is marked with a Prep Fire counter.
You Answered your own question...it's marked with a Fire Marker.
 
Top