Covered Arc and Bypass

Discussion in 'ASL Rules & Errata' started by buser333, Jan 14, 2018 at 5:07 AM.

  1. buser333

    buser333 Active Member

    455
    Jun 24, 2013
    central WI
    Can the gun shoot the bypassing infantry without changing its CA?

    LOSC.png
     
  2. clubby

    clubby Active Member

    Dec 27, 2015
    CA
    I believe yes because the vertex AND the hex being bypass both lie in the Gun's covered arc.
     
  3. Swiftandsure

    Swiftandsure Robin Reeve Silver Supporting Member

    Jul 26, 2003
    St-L├ęgier
    If it is bypassing the woods, yes, as the woods hex is in the Gun's CA.
    If it is bypassing the building, no.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2018 at 3:12 PM
  4. Brian W

    Brian W Well-Known Member

    Jan 29, 2003
    USA
    Yes, assuming J10 is the hex being bypassed, see C.5B and C. Here is the picture the ASLRB gives showing that the Gun cannot fire at the bypasing 467 unless it changes its CA.

    new.jpg
     
  5. buser333

    buser333 Active Member

    455
    Jun 24, 2013
    central WI
    Yes, the woods in J10 are being bypassed.
     
  6. Binchois

    Binchois Too many words... Silver Supporting Member

    887
    Apr 11, 2016
    Michigan
    Then S&S is correct. A unit is always in the hex with the obstacle it is bypassing.
     
  7. ReggieRed

    ReggieRed Member

    59
    Aug 14, 2015
    Central Ohio
    Jeff Buser...you sneaky little devil! :p

    And now I know why you asked the question about firing smoke at the top of an orchard hex. Didn't put 2 and 2 together when I read it the first time.
     
  8. clubby

    clubby Active Member

    Dec 27, 2015
    CA
    Thanks, but I changed my name. ;)
     

Share This Page