Corregidor: the Rock Errata

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
1,028
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
New errata.

American Reinforcement Group Chart (pg.20): RG Note #1, remove “G1” as a CG Day 2 paradrop option.

Errata pdf dated May 18, 2019.
 

pwashington

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Messages
887
Reaction score
180
Location
Alexandria, VA
Country
llUnited States
Possible errata tweaks (based on current Sticky errata):

  • For the Section 2.1 errata at the end of the paragraph, the (B20.9) citation should be bolded.
  • For the Section 8.10, first example, last sentence errata, font should be italics.
  • On the second page of errata, "American Reinforcement Group Chart: Add note “j” to the Notes for RG O5." is listed twice. The second mention should probably indicate that it is errata for American RG Note a (that looks like what it matches).
Spent time this weekend catching up on posting errata. Always appreciative of the efforts to clarify/correct where needed.
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
1,028
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Possible errata tweaks (based on current Sticky errata):

  • For the Section 2.1 errata at the end of the paragraph, the (B20.9) citation should be bolded.
  • For the Section 8.10, first example, last sentence errata, font should be italics.
  • On the second page of errata, "American Reinforcement Group Chart: Add note “j” to the Notes for RG O5." is listed twice. The second mention should probably indicate that it is errata for American RG Note a (that looks like what it matches).
Spent time this weekend catching up on posting errata. Always appreciative of the efforts to clarify/correct where needed.
Thank you, sir, for the corrections. Everything has been incorporated into errata dated May 29, 2019.
 

Gordon

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
922
Reaction score
839
Country
llUnited States
Cool bombing examples but the text shows the Havoc starting in J20 when the images show it in J18, or am I missing something?
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
1,028
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Cool bombing examples but the text shows the Havoc starting in J20 when the images show it in J18, or am I missing something?
Text should be J18. Too many 20s in that example, I guess I had 20 on the brain.
 
Last edited:

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
1,028
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Section 12.522 and 12.5221: Section heading should say, “Wind, Night and Unit Setup”. Section 12.5221 should be labeled “Wind/Night” and the first 2 sentences should be deleted and replaced with, “See HBR 1c. After the Initial CG Scenario roll for Wind Change (B25.65, if required) and Weather, as per 12.517 chart. Then roll for EC conditions, as per 12.5171.”

Errata dated May 29, 2019 on the BFP Support page.
 

pwashington

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Messages
887
Reaction score
180
Location
Alexandria, VA
Country
llUnited States
Section 12.522 and 12.5221: Section heading should say, “Wind, Night and Unit Setup”. Section 12.5221 should be labeled “Wind/Night” and the first 2 sentences should be deleted and replaced with, “See HBR 1c. After the Initial CG Scenario roll for Wind Change (B25.65, if required) and Weather, as per 12.517 chart. Then roll for EC conditions, as per 12.5171.”

Errata dated May 29, 2019 on the BFP Support page.
Rick - not sure on the refresh rate for the page - awaiting the updated sticky version. Thanks.
 

Matt Book

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
1,779
Reaction score
238
Country
llUnited States
We missed this on CG Day 1. I thought you could do this but it is right there in B3.5. I've been playing this wrong a LONG time.
It's from RB and RF where it was allowed, I figured it would transfer over and was checking since so many RB rules show up in other HASL's. Can't do mines/entrenchments in Shellhole paved road hexes, but can in Debris/rubble road hexes.
 

Fiedler

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2003
Messages
554
Reaction score
34
Location
Malmö
Country
llSweden
Drop points for turn 2 and 3 reinforcements (CG2 initial scenario) when are they decided? Before seeing enemy setup or?
DO they need to be 3 hexes away from those used in the preceeding turn(s) as well or just those in this turn?
 

Fiedler

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2003
Messages
554
Reaction score
34
Location
Malmö
Country
llSweden
Q on the Paradrop player aid

excerpt from E9.12: ..."Each parachute's drift is then adjusted for wind (if any) direction and strength by being moved two hexes directly downwind for a Mild Breeze, three hexes thusly during Gusts, or four hexes thusly during Heavy Winds."...

This seems to be contrary to the drift in the player aid and example (I may be confused though so pls double check) which seems to say that any error is increased in the direction of error and not drifting as per E9.12 in the wind.

Anyone care to explain?

Btw the landings are a bloody and messy affair. So far I think the HQ could have saved the money for chutes and just dropped the paratroopers w/o them - the results would be the same more or less :)
/S
 

Ganjulama

Tuco B.P.J. Maria Ramirez
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
2,102
Reaction score
703
Location
Wilmington, NC
Country
llUnited States
Btw the landings are a bloody and messy affair. So far I think the HQ could have saved the money for chutes and just dropped the paratroopers w/o them - the results would be the same more or less :)/S
I'll wait for BFP to chime in on the player aid question. We did not even look at it in our game. We referenced the BFP Paradrop rules and examples only.

As far as the landing goes it is total chaos. You can minimize the death somewhat but not much. Good luck with your playing can't wait to see the results.
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
1,028
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
Q on the Paradrop player aid

excerpt from E9.12: ..."Each parachute's drift is then adjusted for wind (if any) direction and strength by being moved two hexes directly downwind for a Mild Breeze, three hexes thusly during Gusts, or four hexes thusly during Heavy Winds."...

This seems to be contrary to the drift in the player aid and example (I may be confused though so pls double check) which seems to say that any error is increased in the direction of error and not drifting as per E9.12 in the wind.

Anyone care to explain?
The rules defined in section 8 of the Corr rules will take precedence to those in section E9. Given the very low altitude at which they dropped, there was very little drift for the paras on Corrs. When required to define alternate drop points, this is more indicative of the scattering of the airplanes dropping the paras than these guys getting blown around on the way down. They pretty much landed on what they jumped out over.

Btw the landings are a bloody and messy affair. So far I think the HQ could have saved the money for chutes and just dropped the paratroopers w/o them - the results would be the same more or less :)
/S
That's probably about right. The paras on Corregidor suffered upwards of 70% casualties in their drop. Their only saving grace was the element of surprise in that the Japanese had no clue that the Americans would be dropping on them from above instead of their expected invasion via the sea.
 

MajorDomo

DM? Chuck H2O in his face
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
2,884
Reaction score
548
Location
Fluid
Country
llUnited States
In CTR-20 Prequel to Armageddon the Japanese have 5 caves.

Can they create a cave-complex?

Rich
 

ASLSARGE

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
1,494
Reaction score
337
Location
Arizona
Country
llUnited States
In CTR-20 Prequel to Armageddon the Japanese have 5 caves.

Can they create a cave-complex?

Rich
No. The reference is in an obscure place.....gotta dig to find it.....but under the Fortification Purchasing Table (12.520) if you look under Caves you will see the note that Cave Complexes are NA. Thus applies to all CG scenarios and regular scenarios as well.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
181
Reaction score
53
Location
Toronto
Country
llCanada
A number of questions / clarification questions on the Corregidor campaign:

  1. Wind is specified in the CG as coming from the West. This could be from "sniper" direction 5 or 6. Is there a default direction or do you roll for each scenario?
  2. The non-playable gray hexes - what level are they (it impacts fire from the bottom left corner valley)?
  3. What hex row does the south board edge start on? Rows A-J are beside gray borders and have a thick black line but technically are the southern most hexes on the board as well as part of the "West" edge also.
  4. Can you fortify a cellar location and not fortify the ground level? (You can only fortify level 1 if ground level is fortified, but unsure on cellars)
  5. When searching can you find Underground explosion hexes?
  6. When doing recon can you select a powder magazine if someone is above it (which makes no sense if you cannot enter the location)?
  7. For underground explosions, if you use the set DC rules you attack each hex on the 36 table with a -3 modifier. Does this -3 modifier apply to each hex of the underground explosion (your example says use the 36 table but does not specify the modifier)?
8.Leader promotion between GC scenarios appears to allow you to "promote" up to 4 leaders, each one from a different elite squad. Is this correct, or is there a limit to the number of "free" leaders per day?

We just tried the first two days of the CG and it was fun, but we ended it early due to particularly bad luck by the US who hit every deadly mine, rolled a ton of 12's, and found that harrassing fire is deadly when it CH your troops. By Turn 4 day 2 the US losses were 73 CVP to 3 for the Japanese.
 

rreinesch

Elder Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
1,028
Location
Austin, TX
Country
llUnited States
A number of questions / clarification questions on the Corregidor campaign:

  1. Wind is specified in the CG as coming from the West. This could be from "sniper" direction 5 or 6. Is there a default direction or do you roll for each scenario?
  2. The non-playable gray hexes - what level are they (it impacts fire from the bottom left corner valley)?
  3. What hex row does the south board edge start on? Rows A-J are beside gray borders and have a thick black line but technically are the southern most hexes on the board as well as part of the "West" edge also.
  4. Can you fortify a cellar location and not fortify the ground level? (You can only fortify level 1 if ground level is fortified, but unsure on cellars)
  5. When searching can you find Underground explosion hexes?
  6. When doing recon can you select a powder magazine if someone is above it (which makes no sense if you cannot enter the location)?
  7. For underground explosions, if you use the set DC rules you attack each hex on the 36 table with a -3 modifier. Does this -3 modifier apply to each hex of the underground explosion (your example says use the 36 table but does not specify the modifier)?
8.Leader promotion between GC scenarios appears to allow you to "promote" up to 4 leaders, each one from a different elite squad. Is this correct, or is there a limit to the number of "free" leaders per day?

We just tried the first two days of the CG and it was fun, but we ended it early due to particularly bad luck by the US who hit every deadly mine, rolled a ton of 12's, and found that harrassing fire is deadly when it CH your troops. By Turn 4 day 2 the US losses were 73 CVP to 3 for the Japanese.
  1. Use RS to determine.
  2. The grey area is essentially "bottomless". It will not have any los implications for fire/sight traced across it other than range.
  3. The south board edge begins on hexrow K.
  4. The question is not really relevant since by CtR 1.7 cellars are considered fortified by default.
  5. If Searching, yes you could uncover the presence of an underground explosive location.
  6. Recon will simply definitively identify units presence. You may not be able to enter the Location, but you probably know that there are guys in there and maybe a rough number.
  7. Yes, the -3 modifier applies to all 7 hexes of the OBA-style underground explosion pattern.
  8. You are only allowed to promote one leader (12.5113). If an elite MMC is chosen to be battle hardened, it will add an 8-0 in that case (12.5112)
Ouch. Yeah, when your luck is that bad (or good in the case of the Japanese it sounds like), not much you can do otherwise.
 
Top