Concern-German vs. Soviet Armor

SteveS

Reaction score
Country
llUnited States
I'm only learning the armor rules, so I don't know how a typical game goes (I've played an SK3 scenario with tanks-that's it). But I'm a bit worried about one implication of the armor rules.

It appears that Russian tanks are more effective in this game than German tanks. To Hit disadvantages (red numbers) don't really show up until the range is pretty large-so large, in fact, that it practically never happens in ASL. And below that range, Russian To Hit is virtually identical to German To Hit, and Russian To Kill as well as Russian Armor are often substantially better than German To Kill and German armor. The net effect seems to be that Russian tanks are more effective than German tanks. I'm especially wondering whether this reflects reality in the early war (1941) period.

I'm not arguing that Russian tanks shouldn't be better than German tanks in a mathematical sense. I know that T-34s were mathematically/scientifically better than German PzIIIs, and so on. But I question whether Russian tanks should be more effective on the battlefield than German ones. In other words, I wonder if there should be more 'crew quality' modifiers that reflect the differences in initiative, judgement, equipment familiarity, doctrine, etc, that aren't reflected in the game. The 'inexperienced crew' modifier is only +1, which doesn't really alter the relative value of tanks that much. It seems that if ASL accurately models armor use during WWII, the Russians should have won far more quickly than they did, because 1) their armor was better, and 2) that armor was more effective on the battlefield.