Concealment Loss - Concealed Units in OG

aslwynn

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
382
Reaction score
6
Location
Vernon, BC, Canada
Country
llCanada
A Scenario Defender sets up with units Concealed in OG.

Do they lose Concealment if a GO enemy unit comes in LOS of them if there are no hindrances between the GO enemy and the Concealed unit? Is it relevant if the enemy unit has a hindrance to the concealed units? (In this particular case the GO enemy unit would be in Smoke...)

Any rules reference would be appreciated; can't seem to find it in A12.
 

BattleSchool

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2010
Messages
4,485
Reaction score
1,142
Location
Ottawa GMT -5/-4
Country
llCanada
Quick answer: No loss for Infantry, but immediate for vehicles in non-concealment terrain. I believe that hindrances don't play a role wrt vehicles (A12.2), but let me have a look for the specific rule reference for Infantry.

Edit:
Case H (on Concealment Loss/Gain Table) applies to vehicles, namely "Its "?" (or HIP for a Fortification) is lost automatically" the moment a Good Order enemy unit has LOS to it.

Infantry only loses ? in non-Concealment terrain if it performs a concealment-loss activity (Cases A-D).
 
Last edited:

buser333

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2013
Messages
786
Reaction score
261
Location
central WI
An unemplaced gun would lose concealment as well. Probably your best point of reference is the Concealment Table.
 

BattleSchool

Elder Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2010
Messages
4,485
Reaction score
1,142
Location
Ottawa GMT -5/-4
Country
llCanada
Second-last sentence of A12.14 addresses your question about hindrances:

The presence of a LOS Hindrance or beneficial defensive DRM (such as TEM and CA change DRM) along the LOS to a concealed unit does not prevent loss of its concealment.
 
Top